Canterbury Cross by Vickery Collection

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Canterbury Cross by Vickery Collection

Copyright Mike Vickery, 2007.

Canterbury Cross by Vickery Collection

Chart: The chart is printed on two Letter-sized pages. Although there is no indication, I surmise that the chart is in two halves, with each half being on each sheet of paper. There is no overlap. The chart is printed quite small, so I would highly recommend making a working copy. The backstitch is printed in red to make it stand out from the cross stitch symbols underneath. This is quite effective, I wish more designers employed this type of technique.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitch, fractional stitches and backstitch.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton. Stitched on Charles Crafts 18ct White Aida.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love medieval woodcuts. I love medieval beastiaries and I love Mike Vickery’s designs. This chart is a combination of all three.  These animals are straight out of woodcuts or linotype illustrations from medieval beastiaries and Mike’s put them around his signatory scroll and colour work.  His scroll work is a pain to stitch but looks fabulous when finished.

So why haven’t I stitched it? To be honest I can’t even remember when this one entered the stash; the packet was still sealed when I went to scan the cover sheet for today’s picture.  As much as I love the design, it’s just DMC on white Aida.  I want to jazz it up in some way but I don’t know how.

Where can you buy it? This chart is still in print and can be purchased from your LNS or ONS for $7US. If you want to go through a LOT of old school hassles, and you can send a cheque in US funds, you may be able to eventually manage to buy it directly from Vickery Collection for $9US.

Discussion questions: It’s just DMC on White Aida. I want bling.  What do you recommend?  Change the background fabric?  Add some beads? Do I go Rayon ????

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Vickery Collection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Canterbury Cross by Vickery Collection

  1. Maria says:

    At one time, i considered collecting as many Vickery crosses as I could but life and my short attention span prevailed. They still call to me. I am trying to not listen. I would definitely add beads and shiny bits.

  2. Connie W says:

    I stitched with rayon thread once – only used a few short strands. Now the remainder just sit there in my stash looking pretty. Since I found them more difficult to use than DMC Light Effects or metallics, I’d go for beads to add bling. And rather than white fabric, how about a pale purple – like the background color on the chart cover?

  3. Sisu says:

    Mel…., the answer is simple. Stitch it on BLACK! LOL. I would stitch in on black and ‘intensify’ the colors, but personally, I would probably stick with the DMC. It looks like there are only 2 shades used in each area so picking brighter ones would be a snap. It just looks to me like it ‘should’ be jewel tones and not pastels.

  4. kay jones says:

    I agree with Sisu stitch it on black and brighten the colours. As to where it came from, it could have been with those I picked up yonks ago cheap on e-bay and sent on

Comments are closed.