The Friendship Tree by The Gathering Place

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

The Friendship Tree by The Gathering Place

Copyright Sherry Johnston, 2006.

The Gathering Place

The Friendship Tree by The Gathering Place

Chart: The chart is print on the inside of a folded A3 cardboard sheet. The symbols are small but it is a very simple design so there’s no undue problem with the symbol size or similarity.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: Stitched in NeedlePoint, Inc silks on Lakeside Linens 32ct  “Vintage Exemplar” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: I wasn’t.  During an Online Needlework Show in 2006, I cut and pasted the titles of the designs I wanted from the web pages straight into an email and sent that off to my then LNS.  Unfortunately, as well as the text of the titles I wanted, my cut ‘n paste efforts had included some invisible html coding from other charts listed in the lines above or below.  This gobbledygook showed up on my LNS’ email but not on mine.  She assumed I wanted all the charts referenced in the email regardless how the formatting was and ordered them all on my behalf.  I politely paid for them all as the error was made by me. I ended up with three charts I didn’t want and an object lesson to retype or send plain text only!

The other charts have been given away as RAKs years ago but this one somehow stayed lost in my stash.

So why haven’t I stitched it? I did have vague thoughts now and then of stitching it just because it is so different to what I normally stitch, but the design really does not interest me. So free to good home. Usual conditions apply 🙂

Where can you buy it? Although some Gathering Place charts are still in print, sadly this is not one of them.  Nor does The Gathering Place have a viable website anymore.  You can pick this chart up at a LNS or ONS that has older stock, or comment below to receive my chart.

Discussion questions: Have you ever been tripped up blithely placing an order and then being surprised when you saw what arrived?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Gathering Place, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Friendship Tree by The Gathering Place

  1. Oooh! LOVE, love, love this one! I thought, for sure, this was one you picked out, as we have similar tastes….but I really love this one!

    I’ve made a similar mistake recently, ordering some fondant for a cake decorating class I was teaching…I meant to order (10) 2 pound tubs….but somehow added a zero in the wrong place and actually ordered (10) 20 pound tubs! I had it coming out my ears! Fortunately, they accepted the return and refunded the huge difference!

  2. I saw this and went oh my gosh that is so not Mel! Glad to read your comments that I was right. Not my style at all either! VBG!

  3. kay jones says:

    Not me either. My mistakes are usually su0ermarket ones when I end up with something I didn’t want usually at a price I didn’t want to pay. Bloody old age

  4. Rae Kennon says:

    Well I like it. Samplers are my thing and this looks alot like stuff I have. I think I would change the colors though because it looks awfully purple. Don’t get me wrong purple is one of my favorite colors and people tell me I look good dressed in it but I don’t particularly like it hanging on my walls. I would keep them similar but more muted.

  5. Connie W says:

    I’m another who likes this one. I stitched my first sampler about 2 years ago and now I’m addicted! Like Rae, I think I’d tone down the purple – hmmm – have a lovely HDF variegate I’ve not used yet . . .
    As for your discussion question, I know I’ve inadvertently ordered something I didn’t want, but nothing specific comes to mind at the moment. Sure wish my memory worked the way it used to! lol

  6. Connie W says:

    Had to go back and re-read your notes to remind myself of your requirements for re-homing charts. This one really appeals to me – I like the alphabet and the tree – and I think my purple thread would work really well. I know you from the TSS yahoo group.

  7. Sisu says:

    Like Chele, when the picture first loaded I went “Huh?”, LOL.
    I have not really ordered anything I didn’t want, but I did buy a couple clearance kits that I thought I would like and then didn’t. I stitched one and didn’t really care for it, so the sister piece now languishes in my stash.

Comments are closed.