In the Bag by Calico Crossroads

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

In the Bag by Calico Crossroads

Copyright Kathleen Kelly, Linda Connors, 2005.

Calico crossroads Kats by Kelly Mini Kats

In the Bag by Kats by Kelly

Chart: This small chart is printed on one side of a double-sided A5 cardboard sheet. It’s a small design and fits quite nicely on that card size. The chart could easily be stitched without the need for a working copy.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, fractional stitches and backstitch.

Materials: Stitched in DMC stranded cotton and Crescent Colours cotton on Charles Craft 14ct White Aida.

Designer’s Notes: None.  This is part of the Mini-Kats monthly series of Kats by Kelly designs.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love all the Kats by Kelly designs. One of my goals is to collect and stitch all the main designs. This was the first of the Mini-Kats series and of course I loved it – it is sooo adorable. The tiny black cat reminded me of Hemingway so much.

So why haven’t I stitched it? I bought this chart when it first came out (was it really so long ago?) and looked forward to the rest of the series with grand ideas of stitching a whole calendar. Unfortunately I forgot that some designers are very parochial and include themes each month that are not global or indeed do not even translate out of the USA. So showers in April and Fourth of July were useless to me and I felt bitter in my disappointment.  The bitterness was probably aimed inwardly as I should have expected the parochialism. So I didn’t do anything with the Mini-Kats charts I already had.

Where can you buy it? All Kats by Kelly charts are out of print.  But this has been a recent development, so you may be able to find these in LNS that keep older stock. They also appear quite regularly on eBay.

Discussion questions: Is there something that appears regularly in monthly themed  designs that doesn’t apply to you. Does it stop you collecting or stitching these designs or do you work around it?

This entry was posted in Calico Crossroads, Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the Bag by Calico Crossroads

  1. rocalisa says:

    Like you, I’m in the southern hemisphere, so I have to really, really, really love something to consider stitching with with the months and seasons mismatching for me. I also irrationally dislike twee St Patrick’s Day themes for March (and me a Catholic, born in St Patrick’s Parish no less) so that will also stop me from going ahead with a monthly theme.

    I prefer ones that are just seasonal, since then the seasons and the months aren’t locked together wrongly (for me). At one time there were some absolutely gorgeous designs of little black cats with seasonal looking quilts and I absolutely loved those, but I couldn’t track them all down or get them to New Zealand, so I never got those.

  2. Sisu says:

    I don’t think I have ever wanted to stitch a monthly series. There may be one or 2 in a set that I can see myself stitching but most monthly series run to the small, cutesy or overly simplistic side that I just don’t care to stitch x 12. Seasonal sets of 4 appeal to me more since I live in a temperate area with definite changes of seasons.

Comments are closed.