Spooky House by Xs and Ohs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Spooky House by Xs and Ohs

Copyright Sandra Parlow, 2008.

Sandra Parlow X's and Oh's

Spooky House by X's and Oh's

Chart: The chart is printed in a 12 page A4/Letter sized stapled booklet with cardboard cover. The chart is over six of those pages with two extra sections on the back inside cover as closeups of areas that have large amounts of backstitch and longstitch. Although there is no much confetti stitching, there is a lot going on with this chart so I would make a working copy and enlarge some sections for ease of progress.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, fractional stitches, backstitch and longstitch.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton and Kreinik #4 Braid. Stitched on Zweigart 32ct “Thunderstorm” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: As you walk down the tree lined street at midnight, you’re likely to cross to the other side of the street to avoid getting too close to the Spooky House, but you can’t help but stare up at it as you go by, even though you know you should look away.

The moon is so bright and it glows in the darkness … then you see the tree and the hairs on the back of your neck stand up … Is it a tree, or a spirit, perhaps a soul that is not dead, yet not alive either?

You can see that the house has resident … are they still and intense, or trapped, issuing silent screams? Are they trying to call for help, or are they warning you away?

Maybe next time you should take another way home, and avoid this street altogether. But then, you’ll never learn all the secrets of Spooky House if you never return. Perhaps next time you’ll discover some new secret …

Why I was attracted to this design: With the nickname Gothtigger you can tell I have a penchant for all things Gothic and what is more Gothic than a Haunted Victorian House?  The tortured tree spirit is sooo elegant, and yet the whimsy of the stick figure in the ground floor window just makes me smile. Unlike other well-known recent Haunted House designs, this one uses no buttons or beads – everything in the design is stitched.

So why haven’t I stitched it? This is a relatively recent addition to my stash, only purchased in a sale late last year. I’m still kitting it up.  It requires 8-10 spools of Kreinik #4 Braid 052F alone – that’s the Glow in the Dark for the Moon. The fabric was ordered in the Needleworker’s Delight January sales and arrived today while I was typing this entry!  Serendipity strikes!

Where can you buy it? This chart is a relatively recent release and still very much in print. You can buy this through your LNS or ONS for $12US.

Discussion questions:  I don’t “do” Halloween, but I love Gothic Horror stories, Ghost stories and the occasional Bodice Ripper. So Halloween is great as it inadvertently produces charts that I find fabulous!  What major stitching event accidentally fits your reading or art genres?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Xs and Ohs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spooky House by Xs and Ohs

  1. I read “tortured tree spirit” and thought, huh? I have never seen the face in the tree before. How cool!
    This is such a fab piece.

  2. Sisu says:

    I don’t really have a holiday that spawns patterns I like, but a season. Autumn in my are produces sucha wide range of warm and vivid colors, from show stopping reds to rich golds and warm browns. I love those colors and pretty much any piece with a colorful autumnal scene of even a few select leaves leaves me hovering on the ‘to buy or not to buy’ descision.

Comments are closed.