Medieval Mermaid by Midsummer Night Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Medieval Mermaid by Midsummer Night Designs

Copyright Deborah Thorpe, 2005.

Midsummer Night Designs

Medieval Mermaid by Midsummer Night Designs

Chart: The chart is print on a single Letter/A4 sheet of paper. The symbols are quite small, but as this is a monochrome design, there is no need to differentiate between the symbols.  Personally I would still enlarge the chart significantly when making a working copy simply to allow ease of marking off sections that have been stitched.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: Stitched in Gentle Arts cottons on Lakeside Linen 32ct “Double Pearled Barley” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: I love mermaids (if you’ll notice, I even put one in my Adam and Eve piece) and thought this might be a different look than what I’ve seen in other mermaid designs. The quote is from Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. It’s all in one color, which makes it easy to stitch, and uses Gentle Art’s Shaker Threads, Black Raspberry Jam.

Why I was attracted to this design: The simplicity of this design really called to me.It reminds me of a medieval woodcut or linotype illustration. Also, I adore GAST’s Blackberry Jam thread this is stitched in.

So why haven’t I stitched it? I’ve only managed to get my hands on Lakeside Linens fabric this year, so most of the charts in my stash that call for their fabric have either had the fabric substituted to another brand, or more likely the charts stayed there languishing untouched.

Where can you buy it? Midsummer Night Designs seems to have gone out of business sometime in 2010 but their charts can still be found in some LNS and ONS. Medieval Mermaid should cost around $8US.

Discussion questions: We were discussing in a previous post about friendships how online friends and acquaintances can sometimes just go offline and you have no idea why or what happened.  Sometimes I feel the same thing happens with designers. Midsummer Nights was putting out fresh designs and had two different blogs when all just stopped without warning in late 2010. Did something happen to her? Is she OK? Did she have a life-changing experience?  Does anyone know?

Do these questions plague anyone else?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Midsummer Night Designs, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Medieval Mermaid by Midsummer Night Designs

  1. Karen R in GA says:

    I liked her designs, too, and this one is very cool 🙂 I have no idea what became of her, either – and it does bug me when I don’t see anything anywhere. When Lisa from Primitive Needle was killed last year, that spread through a lot of my usual places on the web last year, so I felt up to date on that. But when Marc Davis passed, I don’t know if I would have known if I wasn’t in TheSamplerLife group, even though we did chat offline occasionally – but he wasn’t very good at replying to e-mails at the best of times, so it would’ve taken a while to figure out that way. At least Lisa’s family got onto her blog and posted a message about the tragedy, since that is the main way so many people kept up with her.

  2. Mary Ann says:

    Mel, I may be tempted to discontinue reading your journey through your stash because I am being more than tempted to add more stash to my already rather large one. I just ordered the Medieval Mermaid and the GA threads to stitch it. I don’t do samplers. I have done my allotted all one color chart. Would I have picked this out of a needlework website? NO!!! But I looked long enough at the chart while I was reading your verbage and decided I liked it and I once again did the ‘point and click’ dance. It shouldn’t take long to come, it only has to come across two states.

  3. LauraNorthernCA says:

    I’ve liked that design from the start. There are a couple other Midsummer Night Designs that I like a lot too. I did not realize the designs might be out of print. It seems that happens a lot – like, a designer will come and go in the span of only a few years. I will keep an eye out for MND designs (maybe on eBay) and snatch up whatever I can find. I don’t know anything about the designer.

Comments are closed.