Winter Lady by Passione Ricamo

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Winter Lady by Passione Ricamo

Copyright Laura G. Lattuda, 2000.

Passione Ricamo

Winter Lady by Passione Ricamo

Chart: This is one of Laura’s earliest charts. The package is printed over four sand-coloured Letter/A4 pages with the chart comprising two of those pages. There is a one-row overlap on each page. Laura does not anticipate which way you will stitch 🙂 The symbols are not large, but the chart is very well set out and the easy to follow. This is very useful as she does not allow working copies to be made.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitch and backstitch.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton and DMC metallics. Stitched “Sand” 14ct Aida.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: This is part of a set of four portrait designs. Some of Laura’s earliest work.  I love historical costuming and I don’t have much from this time period in my collection. A lot of American Prairie designs are very kitsch or have the rest of the Americana to go with the it, very little is as elegantly done as these portrait pieces.

So why haven’t I stitched it? I didn’t want to start these until I had all four of the charts in my possession. And until very recently I didn’t. I had three, but these went out of print quite a while ago and I hadn’t even found the fourth on eBay.  I have the fourth now courtesy of a closing down sale over Christmas.

Where can you buy it? These four charts have been reworked and re-released as full-sized designs. This chart is now available as Lady of Winter and can be ordered through your LNS or ONS for $20US or bought from the Passione Ricamo site directly for 23 Euro. If, like me, you prefer the original, good luck haunting eBay or perhaps you could goad me into stitching on this sooner than later.

Discussion questions:  The original was stitched on “sand” Aida and the replacement chart on”Burro” linen.  I think the sand is too dark and I cannot find what “Burro linen” is. I like the yellow tint background to these but I think sand is too dark, and Cream is too blah.  What about Wichelt’s Buttermilk?  Any other thoughts or ideas?  I’d like to stitch the four portraits on the same fabric, so ideally it would be a neutral colour but with a little character to it.

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Passione Ricamo, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Lady by Passione Ricamo

  1. Laura says:

    Hmmm, I like the idea of making the fabric match the season but I understand wanting to do them all on the same color. I think even something as simple as Lambswool could be really nice. Can’t wait to see what you choose!

Comments are closed.