I Love You More … by Sue Hillis Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

I Love You More … by Sue Hillis Designs

Copyright Sue Hillis, 2004.

Sue Hillis Designs PostStitches Post Stitches

I Love You More ... by Sue Hillis Designs

Chart: The chart is print on a folded A4/Letter cardboard sheet. It’s a small design and fits quite nicely on one half of the inside of the fold.  Sue also provides pointers for new stitchers. However there is a printing error and part of the stitching instructions are missing.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, back-stitch and a charm.

Materials: Stitched in DMC stranded cottons on 28ct fabric. The fabric details are missing from the chart.

Designer’s Notes: We all have those days, don’t we?

Why I was attracted to this design: Oh how many people in my life I could I give this to!  That says far more about me than them 🙂  This design is my sense of humour of to a T.

So why haven’t I stitched it? Every time I think of this design I plan to stitch it for someone else in my life.  My Dad, any of my partners (while we were together). Maybe its one I should I just stitch so mum and I can hang in the lounge room and laugh and point at on those rare occasions we get annoyed with each other.

Where can you buy it? This chart is still in print and can be bought from your LNS or ONS from $6US. Alternatively you can purchase this design directly from Sue Hillis for the same price.

Discussion questions:  Another design stitched on boring, boring, boring white. {sigh}. Recommendations?  The DMC used are shades of Salmon and Blue-Green. So a delicate green background? Back to the versatile blue?  Even a pale pink maybe?  The design size is only 3.25 x 4.5″ on 28ct and most of that is back-stitched wording so even in my current slump I could stitch this up without any hassle.  Just need to decided on a fabric – help please?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Sue Hillis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Love You More … by Sue Hillis Designs

  1. Susan Simko says:

    Love it!!!!

  2. tiffstitch says:

    What about changing the DMC for the leaves and backstitching to a light green or ivory and stitch it on a dark background? Not black necessarily, but something dark .

  3. Deb says:

    I did this one for my husband for our anniversary a few years ago. I stitched it as charted and I used the boring white. lol. No sense in wasting a perfectly good specialty fabric on a colour-blind man. Hahaha. When he read it he was all gooshy at first, then he burst into laughter. It resides in his home office so he can see it every day.
    ;o)

  4. Sisu says:

    I think pink or peach would look nice. It would not even have to be very pale because the more delicate design areas would still be high contrast.

  5. kay jones says:

    How about on black with white lettering and pale green andpale pink for the hearts and leaves

  6. Laura says:

    Personally, I’d just pick a scrap of fabric I love and change the floss colors if necessary to make it work.

    This makes me think of a gift from Katie a few years ago. We had had a particularly tough day where we argued about everything. The next day she went out with her aunt and spent the day hanging out and having fun. When I got home, she had a gift for me. It’s a tiny block that says, “I love you more today than yesterday….’Cause yesterday you really pissed me off” She still thinks this is hysterical. Me, well, I do chuckle about it sometimes…

Comments are closed.