Twisted Heart by Ink Circles

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Twisted Heart by Ink Circles

Copyright Tracy Horner 2009.

Ink Circles

Twisted Heart by Ink Circles

Chart: The chart has large, clear, easy to read and easy to differentiate symbols. As it is a small piece, the design and cover is on a single folded Letter/A4 heavy cardstock.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: Carries threads stitched on 32ct Lakeside Linen “Vintage Exemplar” linen. Although this was stitched in Carrie’s cottons, I would stitch it in Carrie’s silks.

Designer’s Notes: From my twisted mind, a fun little project for your rotation. Twisted Heart makes a great beginner project or a quick fix between your larger Ink Circles endeavors.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love just about all Ink Circles designs. I also love designs that are illusions and the celtic knotwork forming a heart here fits that bill – especially as it was in muted tones, not girly pink.  It is also a design that lends itself to easily being colour-changed both in fabric and floss.

So why haven’t I stitched it? Being completely honest, I do not remember when or how this entered my stash. I do not remember if I bought it, if I was it as a gift, or if it was given as a gift by Tracy herself.  And I feel really bad about that. I’m a really shallow person if I can’t remember if something was given a gift 😦

I plan to stitch this design twice. Once in its original design, and once in bright colours on black.  I thought of using some of the bright greens and reds in Black Bloomers for the black version.  I’d stitch the original version first just to check how it was supposed to work before I played with the design though.

Where can you buy it? This chart is still circulation and can easily be bought from your LNS, ONS or directly from Ink Circles for $6.00

Discussion questions: Do you have any items in your stash (charts, floss, accessories, gadgets) that you’ve forgotten exactly how, when or where they came from?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Ink Circles, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twisted Heart by Ink Circles

  1. Sisu says:

    Discussion:
    Not really. I do however often forget who the gift was from. I can remember if I bought it new, used, ebay, or recieved it as a gift or in an exchange, but I often forget names. I do feel bad about that. But thankfully 99% of any stitched items I have received have the stitchers initials on it, and that is usually all the reminder I need. 🙂

  2. kay jones says:

    I frequently forget where things come from or, to come to that where I’ve put them. However, I do have a good excuse – its called senile dementia:))

  3. Laura says:

    Oh, Mel, I’m often in the “I can’t remember where this came from” club. That’s one reason I like my online albums. They’ve helped me save face several times. I don’t think it makes you a bad person. I think it makes you one who enjoys what she receives and doesn’t always remember where things came from!! Speaking of this, I received a lovely package of Tim Tams AND the 2 Mirabilia Queens today when I got home. Thank you so much!! My tummy is upset from the trip so I’ll try the TT’s on a better day and then give you my review.

Comments are closed.