I’ve joined a Facebook SAL

Joan Elliot

Petite Christmas Angels by Joan Elliot

Yeah I don’t know where my brain is most of the time either.

I’m not stitching, I have heaps of stuff here to do, I have more arriving in the mail and my brain in a fit of complete insanity, decides the best thing I could do now is to join a stitch-a-long!

Well it is with Polstitches – a fabric I love and a shop owner I call friend. And I do have the perfect fabbie right here in my stash!

It is a Joan Elliot chartΒ  – a designer I love.Β  But a small, manageable design. Only 5 x 6″ on 28ct fabric when finished.

It’s via a Facebook group – part of my job as a librarian is to understand all the different facets of a social media and I need to my keep my skills up to date in this area even if I do feel like a girl from a good family caught with her panties around her ankles in a seedy backstreet brothel.

It’s the Polstitches Petite Angels SAL. Start date 14th Feb (over 4-6 weeks). Each Tuesday (UK time) Jo will designate which area of the chart we stitch that week. If possible we all post our progress on the Facebook group.

The main rule for the SAL is that we have to change at least one thing on the chart whether it be fabric-thread-beads or other.

I’ve chosen to change the fabric, mainly because I find that the easiest change to make πŸ™‚ Changing threads I find difficult and I don’t have a large enough bead stash to swap around. I am thinking of swapping out the French Knots for beads but I don’t know if that could be considered an official change or just a cop-out πŸ™‚

Anyway, the Angel I’ll be stitching is the Top Left angel. Under the rules of the SAL Jo is able to send me that Angel as a pdf (knowing my luck with the International Post I have no guarantee a paper chart would arrive in time).

The fabric I’ve chosen is from a Polstiches grab-bag of off-cuts a few years ago. I think it is a piece of English Rose. I’ll take a floss toss and some photos when the lighting is better.

Anyone can join in this SAL, you just need to join in the Polstitches Facebook group. Jo has all fo the rest of the SAL rules and perks listed in there.Β  Check it out and see if this is a SAL for you πŸ™‚

No need to tell me I’m an idiot for thinking I can do this – I already know. I’m giving it a go anyway.

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch, Cross Stitch Designer, Joan Elliot, Social Media, Stitch-a-Longs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’ve joined a Facebook SAL

  1. Stephen Silk says:

    If you’re doing the top-left one, do it all in darks and make it a funeral wreath πŸ˜€

    • Mel says:

      You’re giving me ideas …. the fabric would have to be changed. The reds could stay the stay the same. The purples could darken a shade or two … The green would have to be wholesale changed out. Either replaced with a bottle green set or maybe even a sapphire/velvet blue … hmmm – thoughts anyone else?

  2. Steven has a point you could do a complete set of Goth angels in deep dark dramatic colours. French Knots, why not actually do them? Even me with my dysfunctional leftie brain has actually managed to slay that particular beast!

  3. Susan Simko says:

    Just what I need, another project. πŸ™‚ Mel, you’re bad. πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh, sounds like great fun! I love the designs! I know you’ll make it beautiful!

  5. Mel says:

    The four charts were first released in Cross Stitch Card Shop – Issue 74 – December 2010. So how difficult could each one be? Nice simple little project πŸ™‚ Am I right?

  6. kay jones says:

    Okay I’ve joined too. Not that I need another SAL like I need a hole in the head. But hey, if you are going to do it then I really ought to SAL along with you.

    Doesn’t look too difficult.

  7. Laura says:

    I’m working on joining the SAL. We’ll see if I actually manage to get going on it!

Comments are closed.