Dragonfly Dreams by Vintage Bliss Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Dragonfly Dreams by Vintage Bliss Designs

Copyright Bobbie Ashley, 2006.

Vintage Bliss Designs

Dragonfly Dreams by Vintage Bliss Designs

Chart: Vintage Bliss offer a great presentation for their charts; from the ribbon entwined through the front cover sheet to the staples in the folds of the booklet. The booklet is one folded A4/Letter cardboard sheet and one sheet of paper to make an 8 page booklet. Unfortunately the chart is stapled upside-down in my copy. The chart is printed too small for my taste, but the designer does not give permission for a working copy to be made.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitches, back-stitch, Algerian eyelets, beads and treasures. The Algerian eyelet instructions took me some time to work out as each eyelet is stitched with two different threads.

Materials: Stitched with DMC stranded cottons, Mill Hill beads and a Mill Hill treasure on Zweigart 28ct “Cream” linen.

Designer’s Notes: In North American Indian lore, the dragonfly is the essence of the winds of change, representing the messages of wisdom and enlightenment; and communication from the elemental world. The dragonfly posses the ability to see through illusion. They bring prosperity and harmony. The dragonfly brings the light and colour of transformation into your life.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love Vintage Bliss designs. I have many of them in my stash! I love the scrollwork, it is so reminiscent of the illumination in medieval manuscripts. I had vague plans of stitching this up quickly and then passing the chart along to one of my friends who adores dragonflies and bugs.

So why haven’t I stitched it? It’s just DMC on cream linen. So many of the latter Vintage Bliss designs used hand dyed threads and Picture This Plus fabric that I wanted to jazz this up – but I didn’t know where or how to start.

Where can you buy it? Although Vintage Bliss have completely closed business, there are still many LNS and ONS with their designs in stock. Ask your favourite outlet. This design retails for $8US.

Discussion questions:  What are your thoughts – is this design so beautiful and so elegant because it is matte colour on flat background allowing the design and the beads to shine?  Or would a few silks or hand dyed threads on a variegated background make it that much better?  And if so, what do you suggest?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Vintage Bliss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dragonfly Dreams by Vintage Bliss Designs

  1. Hmmm, tough decision. I think I prefer the matt finish. I think it lends to the period feel of the piece. I’m sure, however, it’ll be gorgeous however you choose to work it!

  2. rocalisa says:

    That is so beautiful. I think I’d keep everything around it simple to let the flowing lines and colours of it shine.

  3. Sisu says:

    I think the design is too delicate for a patterned fabric. I feel it would disrupt the flow of the scrollwork and vines. I would stick with an ivory or antique white myself.

  4. Karen R in GA says:

    I would probably go with a solid color – but very likely NOT cream or white – Star Sapphire or Water Lily, a couple of my standard fallbacks 🙂 It would depend on if the scroll work is fine enough that it had the potential to get lost IF it just happened to lie along a color shift – if that makes sense? Also – the scroll work ISN’T gold metallic??? I might have to think about changing that 🙂 This is a beautiful design, reminds me of Alessandra Adelaide’s earlier stuff…

  5. Susan Simko says:

    I think I would have to sub some silks to give even more luster to the design and second the idea that if the scrollwork isn’t metallic, it should be.

  6. Mel says:

    The scrollwork is done in one strand of DMC 832 Golden Olive.

    The vine leaves are all in single colour of:
    3051 Dark Grey Green
    3052 Medium Grey Green
    3053 Grey Green

    The grapes are a mix of DMC and beads so they can stay as is.

    I actually have some Star Sapphire in the stash. This calls for a floss toss!!

  7. kay jones says:

    Karen is right. Definitely not white orcream. A very pale blue or grey and it needs some gold. I’d change the vine leaf colours to a subtle variegated green; probably one of Carries

  8. Laura says:

    I agree with Karen and Kay. A subtly changing fabric would be gorgeous. As far as the floss goes, I would probably try out the DMC and then make changes as necessary. This is a gorgeous pattern! I’ll have to keep my eye out for more of them.

Comments are closed.