In Love by Jardin Prive

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

In Love by Jardin Prive

Copyright Nathalie Cichon, original artist Raquel Blasco, Copyright date unknown.

Jardin Prive Raquel Blasco Maggi Co's Village

In Love by Jardin Prive

Chart: The Chart is print on an A4/Letter sheet of paper. The symbols are clear, easy to read and easy to use. I could probably stitch the design without resorting to a working copy.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches and backstitching. This is one of those charts which uses whole crosses only and then uses the back stitch over the top of empty stitches or through the middle of whole crosses to smooth out the edges. This makes my skin crawl. I will be adding fractional stitches to smooth to the edge of the backstitching.

Materials: Stitched in DMC on 14 count White Aida. The website recommends stitching on natural or mocha. As mentioned above I will be adding fractional stitches, so I will not be stitching this on Aida.  What do you think? Antique White or Wichelt Variegated Natural?

Designer’s Notes: Raquel Blasco is a Spanish artist of Valencia, she likes houses and I like her drawings. Of our meeting was born a collaboration, I adapt her drawings to the cross stitch and so we shall have quite a few her villages in our houses…

Why I was attracted to this design: Cats 🙂  Actually this is gorgeous artwork that is a bit of a departure for me. Can’t really analyse why this style of art appeals but it does, even without the cats 🙂

So why haven’t I stitched it? I’ve cheated today. Mum went to work without pulling a chart and this one arrived in this afternoon’s mail. It’s from the Violarium closing down sale last month. So it’s been languishing in my stash for about two hours now.

Where can you buy it? This chart is definitely in print. Many UK and US LNS and ONS are starting to stock the Spanish designer Jardin Prive, but you can buy the chart directly from her website. The immediate pdf download is 6 Euro or $7.87US or to have the paper chart posted to you, will be 9 Euro or $11.81US.

Discussion questions: This chart is the paper version bought from Violarium, but I now know I can buy the rest as pdf downloads.  I love pdf downloads. Immediate gratification. The ability to enlarge or reduce the size on the screen or the print out as you like. Print out whatever section you like, print the page breaks wherever you like. I love them.

What about you – do you like pdfs or are you a paper chart person all the way?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Jardin Prive, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In Love by Jardin Prive

  1. Tiffany says:

    Definitely the instant gratification of a pdf is fun, but then getting something in the post (as you just did today) has it’s excitement as well. If I was logical, then it wouldn’t matter since I already have so many things I’m working on, it’s mostly accumulating stash to download more pdfs for me at this point. As long as I can make a working copy of a paper chart I think I like the excitement of mail more. 🙂

  2. Oh, this is a cute one! I think it’ll look great with the fractional stitches that you’ll be added. I’d vote for the varigated natural fabric, I think. I love the instant gratification from a downloadable .pdf is fantastic! Have fun with this one!! Hugs! Barb

  3. Laura Landis says:

    This one is very cute! I love the artwork and will have to check out more by the artist. I have a couple of PDF charts and my problem is that they tend to end up mixed in with my freebies instead of me getting started. I think I should probably print the cover photo on some cardstock and create my own more traditional pattern. Hmmm….

    • Mel says:

      You make a very good point Laura – I don’t think any of my PDF charts are being included in this project! I’m going to print the cover pages out today on heavy paper and pop them into one of the folders. Great thinking 99! Eat another Tim Tam when they arrive.

  4. Kat says:

    Im curious about how people feel about PDFs as well. I love them for knitting patterns, since I can store them on my iPad and have easy access to them. I’m going to try stitching from my iPad soon to see how that goes.

  5. Sisu says:

    I like PDF’s. Not only for the instant gratification, but for the insurance. Like when my roof leaked a couple years ago, right over my stitching corner. I did not have a chart out at the time, but it did wreck the table my chart normally lays on. Having a PDF means I could reprint the pages that were destroyed without having to repurchase it or mail it back to the designer for a replacement. I seldom use the enlarge feature since my up-close vision is about 1000 times better than anything more than 2 feet away, but I think that is also a great feature for those with opposite vision issues than mine. I also don’t feel like I am ‘defacing’ a pattern if I use highlighter on a PDF. And if I do make a mistake, I can print a fresh page that I haven’t marked all over to help me find where I goofed. And since I like to put a little history with anything I stitch, I can tuck a copy of the cover and the designer info page of a PDF file in an envelope and put it on the back of the framed pieces.

  6. Dawn says:

    I also love PDFs, instant gratfication, can enlarge, like to highting one working copy as I complete sections, and must less storage space. I always prefer PDFs if they are availble

Comments are closed.