Griper’s Club by Waxing Moon Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Griper’s Club by Waxing Moon Designs

Copyright Waxing Moon, 2005.

Official Member of the Gripe-About-Everything-Club by Waxing Moon Designs

Griper's Club by Waxing Moon Designs

Chart: The Chart is print on an 8.5 x 16″ oddly sized sheet of paper.  The symbols on the chart are easily read and distinguished, which is fortunate as the designer does not give permission to make a working copy.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitches, backstitch and charms.

Materials: Stitched in Thread Gatherer cottons on 28ct Wichelt “Flax” Cashel.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: Have you been reading this blog? Even before the migraines I was a world-class griper 🙂 I could gripe about anything and generally did (Look mum all those years at school debates really were useful!).  Now that I really do have something worth griping about I spend all of my time trying not to.

So why haven’t I stitched it? Usual excuses … Didn’t have the right floss or fabric so it got lost in the stash as I got side-tracked by the next shiny new chart that came along.

To be fair I always said I planned on stitching this one for my Dad (another World Class Griper), but I am not quite sure how he would take it. Dad doesn’t laugh at himself or take kindly to having fun poked at him at times. I think that uncertainly has been the real reason behind my reluctance to dig this one out and kit it up.

To continue the introspection, I’ve decided I shall stitch this design – for me.  I often poke fun at myself. And anyway, if I hang this proudly where everyone can see as they enter the house – well, fore-warned is fore-armed!

Where can you buy it? This chart is out of print but your LNS or ONS may still have some in stock, or they may be able to specially order it directly from Waxing Moon for you.  The chart should cost you around $9US

Discussion questions: This morning I woke up after a hot restless night, (including nightmares when I did sleep) to find an unexpected payment of $300 tried to leave my bank account overnight and one or two clueless emails, on top of the usual migraine and ongoing diarrhea.  The money is being fixed, the emails are being handled by other people but the health stuff is all mine. Today Was A Griping Day!

When did you last have a Griping Day? When was the last time you wished you had this chart stitched and framed so you could use it for a really long good gripe?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Waxing Moon Designs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Griper’s Club by Waxing Moon Designs

  1. I seriously need this! I need a good gripe at the moment as I’ve had 5 hours broken sleep caused by muscle pain and spasms in my thighs. No position is comfortable and fidgeting is not conducive to good stitching! I have now had food, pills and coffee so we’ll see if the spasms ease or if I need to hunt out the Valium and a doctors appointment because this has been getting worse for weeks. Gripe over and normal smiley service is resumed 🙂

  2. kay jones says:

    You can hang it next to the notice you were sent for Christmas:))
    Obviously pain is universal at the moment. Mine’s in my legs, arms and wrists. Not to mention my back which is slowly disintegrating. Ah the joys of having been a nurse, gardener and housewife

  3. Laura Landis says:

    I love it! Of course, my problem is my back and the nerve damage down my right side caused by the epidural shots when I had herniated disks a couple of years ago. Jeff and I have started water aerobics classes 3 times/week from 6-6:55AM! It feels great to be in the water. All pressure is relieved and I actually feel like an athlete – albeit a fairly clumsy one!

    Stitch it up, Mel! If nothing else, it might give you a good laugh when you pass it!

  4. Sisu says:

    I don’t know when my last good gripe was. Probably when talking to the builder about WHY I need a new house, cheap. No closet, no bathtub, no insulation in the walls, a wet dirt crawlspace, a kitchen that I can touch all 4 sides of at once if I stand on one foot, and me sleeping in the porch for the last 6 1/2 years. I think it helped. He ‘refigured’ his bid and got it down under $90 per sq foot.

  5. Lana says:

    I think this piece would be perfect for one of my supervisors at work. If she isn’t complaining about one thing, she tends to be complaining about something else. Currently, it is the attitude that one of the guy’s at work is getting because he is being cross-trained for a “bigger” job. Think too big for his britches. And the key work in that is “cross-trained”. Anyway, I think that is my gripe session for now. On to your next project! 🙂

Comments are closed.