‘A Wrinkle in Time’ and Its Sci-Fi Heroine – NYTimes.com

This was one of my favourite books as a child and I wish we could have been allowed to study it at school.  It was one of the options on the curriculum, but the teacher said that not enough of the kids would like it, so we did studied some stupid contemporary book that I hated and don’t even remember instead.  How many girls’ lives could that teacher have changed if we had studied this book instead.  Or is that exactly what he was afraid of?

‘A Wrinkle in Time’ and Its Sci-Fi Heroine – NYTimes.com.

This entry was posted in Books, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ and Its Sci-Fi Heroine – NYTimes.com

  1. Karen R in GA says:

    One of my all-time favorites 🙂 And I wonder if the author of this article has also read any of the Ender series by Orson Scott Card??? I guess I never gave it that much thought when I grew up with Stephen King in one hand, Frank Herbert in the other…

    • Mel says:

      None of us really gave it that much thought while we wer growing up. But I don’t think we had the “boys books” vs “girls books” shoved down our throats as much as the margeting does these does. Or we just ignored it.

      You’ve touched on something else this author didn’t – most of us also started reading adult authors at a younger age because we read-out the children’s section of the library.

Comments are closed.