Tropical Dreams by Artful Impressions

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Tropical Dreams by Artful Impressions

Copyright Audrey Fitzsimmons, 2001.

Artful Impressions

Tropical Dreams by Artful Impressions

Chart: The chart is print on a single A4/Letter sheet. As the pattern is simply large swathes of colour, it does not mater that the symbols are printed small. They are easily distinguishable.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitches and back-stitch.

Materials: Stitched in Caron Wildflowers on Zweigart 28 Lugana. As the piece is solidly stitched, the colour of the fabric is irrelevant.

Designer’s Notes: The designer gives extensive tips for stitching with variegated thread or floss.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love stained glass. It’s one technique I’d love to learn for real.

So why haven’t I stitched it? Well yes I love stained glass – but Palm Trees? A Tropical scene? Really?  When?  When have I ever been attracted to this kind of design? I don’t honestly remember but I suspect this might have been in a job lot buy from eBay or one of those “I can’t be typecast” type moments.  Either way this one is not high on the “to be stitched” list!

I’m offering this one out, free to good home. Usual rules – comment below, let me know why you want the chart and remind me where I know you from, or how you found this blog. If there’s more than one comment seeking the chart, I will randomly select the winner in one week.

Where can you buy it? Artful Impressions no longer produces cross-stitch patterns so I suggest, yet again, to head to eBay (hmm maybe I should ask for commission at this rate). Otherwise, comment below!

Discussion questions:  Name one chart in your stash that is wildly out of your usual genre. Why did you buy it and will you actually stitch it?

This entry was posted in Artful Impressions, Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tropical Dreams by Artful Impressions

  1. kay jones says:

    I suppose Marbles was the one chart that moved me onto a higher plain. Its about 3/4 finished so I suppose I should find it and finish it. This one is nice but no thanks. I’m sure there is a much worthier person who will lust after it:))

  2. This is very cool! I do stained glass, and that was the first thing I thought of when I saw the design (before I read your description!) I’m with you though, I would love to do the picture in glass, but not in stitching! Someone will love it, I’m sure!

  3. Karen R in GA says:

    At first glance, I was sure this was a canvaswork piece. Not sure I could do this as cross stitch. I love stained glass, have actually DONE this design, minus the palm trees, in glass as one of my class pieces once upon a time 🙂 But you know if I’m going to stitch a stained glass piece, I’m going all out: http://rifestitch.multiply.com/photos/album/12/Lust_List_#photo=303 🙂

  4. Susan Low says:

    This is an interesting chart. It reminds me of Florida. But I know my mother would say it would remind her of Hawaii or Palm Springs. She loves palm trees. I remembered climbing a palm tree on the Key West to see how far I could go but didn’t make it as I was too young. Anyway, it is an eye catching design. I would love to try to stitch this. I do love stained glass and I have a couple of small ones for my RV. The sun shining through the stained glass gives off a colorful shine in my RV kitchenette.

  5. Sisu says:

    It is a pretty design, but I don’t think I would ever stitch it. Really big areas of all one color make me want to run screaming, LOL. The one (ok, 2) chart in my stash that is way out of my genre would be 2 Jan Hagara charts that were in a box of stuff I got at a yard sale, so though I bought them, I did not buy the box ‘for’ them.
    The first, titled “Betsy” is a little girl that looks like she is burping a baby doll. The second, titled “Lydia”, is a bit older girl in a bonnet holding a girl doll.
    Would I ever stitch them? Nope. I like pictures of little girls at the beach, or in a meadow of wildflowers, or catching frogs, or playing with animals, but since I never liked dolls, I have no desire to stitch them. They appear old-ish since the floss lists DMC, Paternyan Wool, and a Bates conversion, and I am not sure Bates has produced floss in the last 20 years.
    They need a new home too.

Comments are closed.