Gilt Star by Landmark

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Gilt Star by Landmark

Landmark Tapestries and Designs Camus International Celtic Gilt Pillows

Gilt Star By Landmark Tapestries

Copyright Landmark, Distributed by Camus International, date unknown.

Chart: The chart is print over four pages of good quality heavy paper or glossy light board. There’s even an extra sheet of heavy cardboard in the packet to keep the packet stiff and prevent the pages from folding or creasing on transit. However the chart itself is printed too small nd the symbols are printed in colour. The coloured symbols are supposed to aid in visibility but to be honest they just make me seasick.  The design is fully stitched so there is a symbol in every square and because the chart is printed so small, every symbol is the same size and shape so it has the same visibility. I cannot differentiate between a red heart and black square with magnifying help. The light green z and the yellow circle seriously give eyestrain.  To use this chart it would be necessary to enlarge it and make a black and white copy.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: DMC Stranded cotton stitched on Aida 14ct. The project is designed to be finished as a cushion therefore I presume the materials were selected for maximum washability.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: Another bold colours on black design.  I was also looking at this time for projects that didn’t just end up framed on the wall. These purpose-designed as cushions seemed perfect. The fact that they didn’t go with any lounge setting I have ever owned or were suitable for a home with cats seemed irrelevant.

So why haven’t I stitched it? Rather than stitching the entire design, I was planning on stitching the elements on black fabric, giving a textured facet to the design. I haven’t stitched this because I don’t know what sort of black fabric to use – what is the thickest, densest background fabric: Lugana or Jobelan? Zweigart or Wichelt?  I know it isn’t linen 🙂 At the time, I knew nothing about evenweaves, I just knew there was a whole slew of different types, Murano, Lina, Brittany … and I wanted a fabric that the white pillow insert would not show through.

Where can you buy it? I bought this chart (well alright the entire series) from my LNS when the Needlework Show was on that year. So you could wait for the next Needlework Show (April), or try one of the UK ONS or there is always the ubiquitous eBay.

Discussion questions:  For a nice thick solid ground fabric what would you use? Aida, Lugana, Jobelan, Linen, something else?  Around the 14/28 ish range to keep the cushion size for this project (and my eyesight) please?

 

JANUARY RECAP: Added 1 February 2012
OK this really isn’t going to rise high enough in my priority list to stitch. Even when typing up the listing on the day, I was in two minds whether to keep it or offer it out. I discussed the series of Celtic Gilt Pillows with mum that night.  I have other Landmark charts in my stash that I would rather stitch first.  The result is that one chart went into mum’s stash, one chart I dithered over and wanted to put back into my stash for a decision to be made next time it is randomly chosen, so it and the two others (including Gilt Star) have been wrapped as a present and will be sent as a RAK next time I go to the Post Office.

The questions do stand thoigh as I do have other cushions and other uses for thick black fabric so thank you for all of the suggestions – I especially loved the lateral thinking!

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Landmark Tapestries, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gilt Star by Landmark

  1. rocalisa says:

    My suggestion to solve the “white pillow cover showing through” problem would be to by a white pillow cover and dye it black. Then you can stitch it on whatever you like and if there is some show through, it’ll just add to the black background.

  2. Wow, this is spectacular! I love the design!

  3. Laura says:

    Another suggestion would be to sew a piece of black fabric to the back of the stitched design so there would be no chance of the white showing through. In this case, you could use whichever black stitching fabric you prefer!

  4. Karen R in GA says:

    LOVE THIS! Have never seen this series – it looks more like a canvas work piece to me 🙂 I love jobelan, it is definitely my favorite of all – but if you really want to make a cushion of it – and use it as a cushion – I’d go with a lugana or aida, really, for the sturdiness…

  5. Susan Simko says:

    I bought the entire series also with the intention of stitching them for pillow covers for our family room.

    OTOH, if I do stitch all the patterns I’ve bought for pillows for the family room, I think the family room would be stuffed to the ceiling with pillows! 🙂

    • Mel says:

      I know what you mean Susan, that’s why I’m letting this series go – I’ve so many more that I’ve bought since and I love more.

  6. Sisu says:

    Pretty chart! As far as the white cushion insert, I am not sure any cross stitch fabric would be dense enough to keep the white from showing through. I would probably find someone handy with a sewing machine to whip up a tuck cover for it (like a pillow sham, the opening on the back) out of black fabric. I don’t own a sewing machine or I would give it a go for you.

Comments are closed.