Dragon Noir, Dragon Blanc by Dessins DHC

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Dragon Noir, Dragon Blanc by Dessins DHC

Copyright Dominique Hoel-Colin, copyright date unknown.

Dessins DHC

Dragon Noir Dragon Blanc by Dessins DHC

Chart: Oh the first duplicate from a designer to emerge from the stash 🙂 This chart is printed on one A3 sheets of paper with instructions in English and  French. Unlike Puzzle, this is a nice large, computer-printed chart. Very easy to read and use. As this is a monochrome design there are minimal instructions.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton. Stitched on 14ct White Aida.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: Dragons! I love dragons!  Aren’t these beautiful East European dragons! The picture shows a white dragon on a black fabric and a black dragon on a white fabric, yet the pattern has the two dragons separated by only four blank rows. I was planning on stitching these on the same piece of fabric, one normally and the other as a piece of Assisi work.  Karen did this to fantastic effect with her Fire Flowers project and it looks fabulous framed.

So why haven’t I stitched it? Dithering about colours mainly. What colours would I use – would I make a pure white and black dragon? Would I make a silver and black or would I do a nice French red and white?  Also how far apart would I put the dragons?  How many rows would I put between the dragons? How many rows of stitching would I put around the edge of the Assisi work dragon?

Where can you buy it? Check with your LNS and ONS as many do buy from Dessins DHC. Otherwise you can purchase directly from Dessins yourself.

Discussion questions: OK digging through my stash I’ve decided on gold and black dragons.  I have Silkweavers Opalescent Luganas Sparkling Promise, Goldspinner, Midas Touch and a Solo that is more orange/peach than any of those.  Which do you recommend for a “gold” dragon? Also any thoughts on the above questions on the Assisi work ans spacing?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Dessins DHC, Project a Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dragon Noir, Dragon Blanc by Dessins DHC

  1. Ooohhh! I love this one! I love contrasting colors, and I think you’re choosing the perfect colors! I love dragons, too….as you know. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress on this one.

    Hugs,
    B.

  2. rocalisa says:

    Gorgeous dragons.

  3. tempewytch says:

    Drat it! wish I could still stitch they are luuuurvely!

  4. Laura says:

    Cool design, Mel. They actually make me think of griffins. I like your Assisi idea and I have another for you. A few years ago, Blackbird Designs released bonus charts to form one large design. They showed this stitched on one large piece of fabric or on individual pieces of fabric that were then sewn together. If you didn’t want to do the Assisi work, you could choose to stitch one on light fabric and one on dark and then sew them together. I have not Karen’s patience to do all the extra work! LOL

    • Mel says:

      I think your suggestion of stitch one on light fabric and the other on dark and then sew together is exactly how this one is *meant* to be stitched.

      I’ve just been inspired by Karen – and this looks like a smaller – easier version than what she did 🙂

  5. Karen R in GA says:

    I think this would be EXCELLENT to do the positive/negative on! These are really cool dragons! I love the gold & black – Goldspinner or Midas Touch would both be great choices, if you can find a thread that matches. Maybe one of the Threadworx colors??? With one of those, you get a lot of fiber for the money – and I know somebody that can get them at US cost for you 😉

    I have seriously contemplated doing Needlemania’s Phoenix Rising as an exact opposite of Fireflower – the dual techniques done in red fiber on black fabric – because you know how I like a challenge 🙂

    • Mel says:

      We ended up decideding on Sparkling Promise for this one – it looked the best with the black and had the nicest colour movement where the dragon would lay on the fabric.

      Karen – I may be Bonkers, but you my friend are certifiable. I bow to your innovation and ride on your coattails! Go for it with Phoenix Rising! I tell you one thing though – you can keep your beaded Growth Rings – I’m waving Poms Poms all the way as it is simply gorgeous, but I wont be emulating that feat!

  6. Sisu says:

    I am not sure how many rows to space between the 2 of them but if you are doing them on one piece of fabric, I think it would look cool to put a border between them, in another contrasting color, that emulates the end of the bottom dragon/griffons tail. Maybe mirror it vertically and repeat it across the space between the 2 in a rich red, green, or royal purple (had to throw that one in there for Laura).

Comments are closed.