Gold Leaf by DMC Bodleian Library Collection

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Gold Leaf by DMC Bodleian Library Collection

Copyright DMC and Bodleian Library, University of Oxford, 1998.

DMc Ultimate Cross Stitch Chart Collection Bodleian Library Collection

Gold Leaf by DMC Bodleian Library Collection

Chart: The Chart is print on a large glossy folded A2 sheet of paper. The symbols are printed clearly and the design has almost no confetti stitching – so apart for the large unwieldy paper, the chart would be a dream to stitch from.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches and beads.

Materials: As this is a DMC design, the pattern uses DMC stranded cotton, DMC metallics and DMC beads.  Stitched on Zweigart 32ct “Cream” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love medieval art and illumination. In the 1990s DMC put out a series of a half-dozen or so charts based on medieval illuminations from the Bodleian Library in the University of Oxford, UK. These charts are quite simplistic and easy to stitch compared to the art-to-cross stitch versions of illuminations I have seem emerge in the last few years, but on the other hand, I think this chart could be completed by a fast stitcher in a couple of weeks unlike the newer versions …

So why haven’t I stitched it? DMC Doesn’t make beads anymore so I when I first obtained this chart in 2002 or 2003 I had no idea how to convert the bead numbers:

V1 02 816
V3 08 3046

Now I’ve worked out that the last number is the DMC colour number, so the top one is 816 Garnet and the bottom is 3046 Medium Yellow Beige (perhaps Light Gold as a Substitute).  But what do the first two numbers mean and what size are these beads?

Where can you buy it? This chart has been out of print for a long time, but charts from this series do crop up regularly on eBay.

Discussion questions: OK so we know that the colours conform closest to Mill Hill 02099 Ruby and 02046 Matte Willow but which size?

Also , what is this design for?  It has space for initials and an exact date?  Is that the exact day you finished stitching it? Is it a birth sampler where you only put in the kid’s initials?  What is the purpose of this chart? Suggestions please?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, DMC (Bodleian Library Collection), Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gold Leaf by DMC Bodleian Library Collection

  1. MI Pat says:

    I just got this one on ebay. I thought it would be fun as the cover to a stitching notebook… And Mel, we can always customize the chart by selecting the beads we want to see on the finished work!

  2. Cynthia says:

    A Google dig found the v1 listed In another chart, stating it as seed bead, ruby. The v3…no luck….

  3. Oooohhh! I love this one! I’m going to have to search e-bay and see if I can buy a copy of it. I, too, love medieval/renaissance era. My hubby and I do living history/re-enactment…. Off to go find this!

  4. Well, I just checked e-bay, and couldn’t find it. However, I did find this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/200705777751?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1431.l2649

    I hope I win! 🙂

  5. Karen R in GA says:

    I’ve never seen this before – I love it!!! As for beads, I would just choose a red and a gold that you like with the fibers; if you use a standard 32ct fabric, or a 28ct, use 11/0s. If you go higher than 32, like 36, use 15/0s. Gold is pretty easy – 557 in either size. The red – I’d have to see those red threads and match up with those, so the red doesn’t veer too much towards orange or purple compared to the threads.

    I would probably personalize it for when I finished stitching it, though it could very easily be used to commemorate nearly anything – a birth, a wedding, even a graduation. And I like the idea of it being a notebook cover – Mel’s Stitching Journal?

  6. kay jones says:

    I’ve either got this one or one very similar. I think stitching it as a notebook cover would be a brilliant idea and pick the beads you think suit best.

  7. kay jones says:

    Looked today and mine is totally different. I did have another Bodleian chart but sent it off last week as a RAK to Hungary. I’m sure she would RAK it back to you when she’s finished with it

  8. Laura says:

    I really like this one! I’d say choose the beads that fit the best. Karen does a lot of beading and I would use her suggestions. I think it should probably be your initials and the date you complete it or even stitched as a memorial piece? We all have someone we’d like to remember and this seems like the perfect piece for such a thing. Might even make for a good way to reminisce while stitching.

  9. Mel says:

    The size of this one is 224 x 288 so on 32ct the design size is 14 x 18. Bit big for a journal cover. Maybe a photo album?

    Barbara – patience is needed with eBay 🙂 There are 7 or 9 designs in this series and they pop on and off all the time. I think I’ve seen them all cycle through at least once over the last six months. Yes the chart you found (and it’s partner) are in my stash and have been since *I* was in the SCA.

    Thanks Cynthia for the info on the beads – I always wondered if V1 ad V3 meant they were different sized beads so there were seed beads and petite beads. For the gold beads, I think I’d be tempted to go the old faithful 00252 Victorian Gold. But that’s a decision to be made when all the stitching is completed 🙂

    Of course the real answer is to RAK Karen the chart, let her stitch it up, find out what beads she uses and then cheekily request the chart back:) She’ll have it finished before it even rises near the top of my get-started pile 🙂

  10. Oh, E-bay is evil!! I found SO many charts that are similar to yours….I think I’ve ordered 8 different ones so far! 🙂 Once I get them stitched, I’ll RAK them, too! Thanks for kind of enabling my habit!

  11. Sisu says:

    I would guess the first 2 numbers to be size and finish. I would just see what you can find that comes close to what is in the picture.
    I tried to submit a request for informationto DMC-Usa.com, but when I sent it, I got just a number ‘500’ on my screen which I think means it did not go through. If I do get an answer, I will pass it along though.

Comments are closed.