Dream Tree Ornament by M Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Dream Tree Ornament by M Designs

Copyright Mary McLenon, 2005.

M Designs

Dream Tree Ornament by M Designs

Chart: The Chart is print on a coloured, folded A4/Letter cardboard sheet. Although this is a monochrome design, the chart is printed a little small for my taste. The pink cardboard doesn’t make it any easier to see the symbols. The designer does not give permission to make a working copy.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, beads and treasures.

Materials: The design is shown in two colourways;  one a larger framed over-two piece, the other a smaller over-one ornament. Over One version: Thread Gatherer Silk ‘n Colours, Mill Hill Petite Beads and Glass Treasures, stitched on 30ct Coconut Macaroon Linen from Access Commodities. Over two version: Gloriana silks, Mill Hill Glass Beads and Treasures, stitched on 32ct Crystal DaVinci Linen from Picture This Plus.

Designer’s Notes: My fascination for letter forms and a lovely email from a stitcher has inspired my Dream tree. Turn the ornament onto its’ side and you will see that it is quite literally, a DREAM tree. Stitched over one and finished as an ornament, it can be an inspiration all year round. Stitched over two the design makes a nice framed piece or pillow. The models were stitched with silks from The Thread Gatherer and Gloriana. The over two version shown gets its’ soft tonal effect by using a thread that is just a bit darker than the shaded fabric. Personalise the design by choosing the linen counts and thread colours that suit your project. 

Why I was attracted to this design: I love illusions and puzzles in art. I love one thing that masquerades as another.  (Only in art and the arts, I can’t stand these traits in people!) I love the words hidden in the tree designs in this series. I love the Crystal daVinci fabric the over two version this chart is modelled on too!

So why haven’t I stitched it? I started one of these trees and didn’t like it.  The colour combo of the floss and fabric in real life looked nothing like it did in the cover photo.  I was so disappointed I put it away and I have never started another in the series.

I still love the series and I have more experience now in substituting threads. I also have a much larger stash to choose alternate threads from.  Perhaps now is a good time to start another of these designs or revisit that wip.

Where can you buy it? This chart is still in print and can be bought from your LNS or ONS from $6US. Alternatively you can purchase this design directly from the M Designs Etsy shop for the same price.

Discussion questions:  I am in love with the Over two colorway for this piece.  Gloriana WoodPond silk stitched on Picture This Plus Crystal daVinci linen.  Would you stitch this piece in that colourway, over two as the model is?  Or would you stitch this piece in the Woodpond/Gloriana colourway over one, as an ornament, if you had the eyesight to do so?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, M Designs, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dream Tree Ornament by M Designs

  1. cathymk says:

    I got a “Kelso” tree made by Mary and have stitched one for the in-laws, will do it someday for me and Dr K (that said I made a few counting errors when I stitched it so no happy stitching memories on it, probably I was hoping to impress them and wanted perfection, which adds a lovely stressful nuance…). Personally I’m not into the over two model of dream – strange because I do like the fabric – I guess I just don’t like that the silk doesn’t stand out from the background much perhaps with a lighter silk, dare I say white? or even a metallic silver??

  2. Terry Forester says:

    I’ve yet to stitch any tree word patterns as i have not found any that really appeal to me. That is until this one. I love the material they chose to stitch it on. I will have to look for this one soon.

  3. kay jones says:

    Must admit I dont like either of the colours although I love the design. I’d be inclined to do it over 1 with Nefertiti (Waterlilies) or perhaps DD Autumn Sunset or Freo on a pale background. Alternatively it would look good on a dark green background like Sparklies Ocean Deep with a deep yellow like Waterlilies Creamsicle

  4. rocalisa says:

    Personally, I think I’d choose to keep it smaller – but within a size I could see to stitch!

    I have only one of these trees – one I got online that says New Zealand and looks very pretty. I started it, but I wasn’t happy with my thread and colour combo. I also got confused about what size it was going to be and the size of my piece of fabric, so it got abandoned. (The fact I started it while out of town for my SIL’s mother’s funeral may be a factor too, as I associate it with that now.) Maybe I’ll try it again one day.

    I was trying to make it look like a tree and had green on blue. I’m suddenly thinking that if it’s a New Zealand tree I need a really bold variegated thread that is white and black. Hmmmm. You’ve got me thinking about it now, damn you! 🙂

  5. Mel says:

    Cathy, Ooh do you have photos of the tree you stitched for the in-laws? Did you like how it charted up? I like your idea of the lighter coloured floss … will have to revisit when I obtain the fabric – its the fabric I Lust after in this one.

    Terry – Add it to your Wish List, you’ll never know what could happen. Conversely go on buy it ….what’s another WIP between friends 🙂

    Kay – Oooh I loke your colour ideas there …. would love to see which you ultimately decided on choosing.

    Kerry – hey I’m seeing a SAL starting here 🙂 🙂 Tee Hee 🙂 I don’t know about a black and white thread but I have a lovely shades of grey hand dyed fabric here I could send over. It was from a collaboration pack a few years back. I think its called Ashes on Snow …

  6. Laura says:

    I love these trees. I have several of the patterns and after I started collecting these things, I decided I would make a forest of them on one piece of fabric. I’m using some sparkly PTP fabric in something neutralish like Legacy and then using different floss colors for each tree. What I figured out is that instead of stitching 8 on one piece, I’m stitching 4 sort of Christmas themed trees on this one piece of linen and then I’ll be choosing something different for the other 4. My idea now is that I’ll hang one piece during Christmas time and the other the rest of the year. Or, maybe I’ll love them so much I’ll just hang them both year round! I have 1 1/2 stitched so far but no photos on my site yet. I’d have to find them to photo them, too. I say stitch it how YOU will like it with whatever floss looks best on it. Oh, and your friend will be at the Super Bowl Sale on Feb. 5 where PTP is having a 25% off sale!! Just sayin’….

    • Mel says:

      Ooooh I’d love to see a WIP photo 🙂 Are you placing the four trees in a tree-type arrangement? Hmmm six would work better for that …. Halloween for the other four? I could see trees saying Spooky … Scary … and Boo.

      As to the PTP sale …. tempting very tempting but no. Paw Prints just got back to me about the items I asked for back at the beginning of the month at their closing down sale so ummm there goes another hit on the credit card …. I know I put myself on a stash diet but I had already placed the order …. I had just given up on them ever getting back to me. Turns out they had to drop everything and fly interstate for a couple of weeks due to a grandmother with a broken hip. So the last of the January crazies has fallen on the credit card. So now to go back to continuing to pay it off. But hey I’ve got some nice fabric bits coming my way. Just Zwiegart and Wichelt but it does include a nice piece of 25ct Barely Blue for Forever Love 🙂 Now to start actually stitching again.

      • Laura says:

        I think when I finally decided to just stitch 4 that I ended up lining them up. I’ll try to dig them out for a WIP photo for you. I probably know EXACTLY where they are. I did think about stitching one over 2 then another over 1 and trying to space them a little differently but it made my head hurt so I gave it up! LOL

  7. Sisu says:

    I did stitch one of these, it was the Faith tree for a neighbor who has since moved away. I stitched it over 1 so she could use it as either an ornament or a wall hanging. I stitched it on a high sheen silvery blue material scrap, not sure what the original piece had been, in a variegated pine green. I used blue-lined clear glass seed beads and a brass star charm that I had on-hand. I did take a picture, but I am not sure what disk it is on since that was several years ago. I did like the result. As far as the one you have, I don’t really care for either colorway. I like the fabric on the over 2 model, but the floss seems to get lost in it. To my eyes on my monitor anyway. I like contrast. 🙂 If you have a similar colored fabric, I personally would go with a deep burgundy hand dyed floss or a green/red blend, such as Black Forest by Threadworx http://www.threadworx.com/productDetails.php?prd_id=114
    But that is just me. I don’t tend to pair a pastel fabric and a pastel floss, I want something I can see across the room, not have to put on my glasses and get within range. Old eyes. 🙂

Comments are closed.