Black on White by Courtney Collection

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Black on White by Courtney Collection

Copyright Courtney Glau, 2011.

Courtney Collection

Black on White by Courtney Collection

Chart: The chart is printed over four pages with a two-row overlap on each sheet. It is a monochrome design and the symbols are a decent size so this looks an easy chart to stitch.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton. Stitched on Zweigart 28ct “Antique White” Lugana.  Courtney now recommends stitching this on Lakeside Linen with a black silk floss.

Designer’s Notes: In 1997, I designed my first counted cross stitch design on the computer. At that time, it was jus something fun to do. I had never dreamed of becoming a counted cross stitch designer, so here I am. I hope you enjoy stitching this piece as much as I did. I stitched this piece on Lugana, white 28 count over two and Black DMC cotton floss (remember, this was 14 years ago.) If I were to stitch it again I would use Lakeside Linen and a black silk floss. Don’t be afraid to try something a little different by inserting some of your favourite things and using petit cross stitches. Some suggestions would be flowers, animals, family initials, names of places you’ve lived or whatever. This will make your piece a one of a kind keepsake.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love the elegant simplicity of this design. To me it is very evocative of the early 1920s Art Nouveau styling paired with the stark monochrome colouring favoured by Art Deco. Of course I could also not have a clue what I’m talking about 🙂 But I like it anyway.

So why haven’t I stitched it? This is a relatively recent addition into the stash. I’ve only had the chart for a few months and I have not been stitching regularly during that time.

Where can you buy it? This is a new chart (only released last year) so it is easily obtained through any LNS or ONS for $US12.

Discussion questions:  Courtney suggests using a Black silk on a Lakeside linen instead of DMC on white Lugana. Looking through my stash, I agree. I think this would look fabulous stitched in NPi 993 on 32ct Lakeside Linen Attic Lace, but that is what attracted me to this design; the Black on White 1920s feel.

What combo of colours would you use to stitch this?  Would you make any additions to the chart (as per Courtney’s suggestions)?

This entry was posted in Courtney Collection, Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Black on White by Courtney Collection

  1. kay jones says:

    I agree with your choice. Conversely, you could stitch it with pure white silk on black fabric or then again, perhaps a matching pair.

    Now thats got you thinking ain’t it?

    Hugs

  2. Laura says:

    Well, Mel, I do like a good Courtney Collection chart. She has a very interesting sense of design. I like your ideas with regards to color and since I know you like the black/white, I think it’s perfect for you. I would probably choose bits from my stash that would coordinate. I could see the flags in a brilliant red or emerald green or royal purple (bet you never guessed that color would come up! ;)) And I like Kay’s suggestion about doing it twice. Of course, that’s probably because I’m not the one who has to stitch it!

  3. Mel says:

    Kay – Hmmm yes I did think about a negative design but I wasn’t sure it would look as good. I still think the original looks the best.

    Laura – yeah I noticed the suggestion about doing it twice was from those not offering to do it for me 🙂

  4. Sisu says:

    I like it as the black and white, but I think a deep green on ivory would look nice too.

Comments are closed.