Dragons and Dinosaurs by Dragon Fire Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Dragons and Dinosaurs by Dragon Fire Designs

Copyright Sherry Schons, 2001.

Dragon Fire Designs

Dragons and Dinosaurs by Dragon Fire Designs

Chart: The Chart is printed over seven sheets with a three row overlap on each sheet. Symbols are easy to see and differentiate.  There are large swathes of single colour; little confetti stitching.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton. Stitched one over one on Wichelt 28ct “Antique White” Linen/Silk blend.

Designer’s Notes: Are dragons and dinosaurs related? Of course! Dragons just have the better press agent.

Why I was attracted to this design: As previously mentioned, mum’s nickname is The Dragon (there’s no-one less Dragon-ish in the family but she loves anything dragon-related). I bought this chart over seven years ago, planning to stitch it for her; I thought she’d get a kick out of it the sentiment expressed. She smiled as she handed me the chart, so yes I know she like this one.  Hmm, I wonder if I should start to get suspicious of the randomness of the charts mum is picking 🙂 Nah, the stash is too disorganised for her to deliberately search for any particular chart.

So why haven’t I stitched it? From memory I won this chart as part of a large eBay bundle, 40 charts for $40. I did some good eBay wins back in the day. I had great plans, but I was stashing faster than I was stitching and then this one just got lost in my stash and forgotten about.

It’s a simple enough chart, I’ll line this up to start after I finish a couple of the others already listed this month.

Where can you buy it? Dragon Fire Designs seems to be out of business these days. Their website seems broken and I cannot find a distributor for their designs.  I suggest you try your LNS if they stock older charts, or try eBay like I did.

Discussion questions:  I’m thinking of again changing this to a light blue background – perhaps the other half of the Zweigart Summer Winds Belfast I’m planning to use for Forever Love. Otherwise perhaps stitch it on Cream Belfast, stitch the Word Initials in Metallic Gold and run a little Emerald metallic up the spines of the dragon wings, just to add a little bling.  What do think?  Advice?  Thoughts?  Either way, I’m stitching this one over two, not over one 🙂

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Dragon Fire Designs, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dragons and Dinosaurs by Dragon Fire Designs

  1. Julie Nemitz says:

    I think it would be beautiful on blue, and the emerald metallic would be gorgeous. Can’t wait to see you start this one, Mel.

  2. tiffstitch says:

    Definitely a nice idea to add some bling to the wings. After all, the dragon should stand out a little more. I like the idea of seeing this on blue fabric to represent the sky since the dragon appears to be in flight.

  3. kay jones says:

    Yes, definitely a pale blue with gold glitzy bling on the wings.

  4. Mel says:

    Right – on “sky” blue fabric with bling! Another project sorted!

    It’s a pity none of these designs we’ve seen would work on Alluring Blue. I have a yard of that in my stash. Maybe I should have more mermaid patterns in my stash …

    http://www.123stitch.com/cgi-perl/itemdetail.pl?item=3609-5053Y

  5. Laura says:

    Mel, couldn’t you just tweak the dragon color a bit and make them more tealish? I think they’d look beautiful that way on the fabric already in your stash! This is definitely a “Mel project”.

  6. Mel says:

    Found the perfect fabric! I’m using the blue fabric from Dovestitch that Tina gave me last year!

    https://meltigger.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/birthday-thankyou-tina/

Comments are closed.