Lovely Night by Funk & Weber

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Lovely Night by Funk & Weber

Copyright Jen Weber, 2006.

Funk & Weber Stitchlings Let There Be Night

Lovely Night by Funk & Weber

Chart: The Chart is print on a small folded A5 cardboard sheet. Although small, the symbols are clear and easy to differentiate. This design is stitched in white thread on black fabric.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, long stitch (for the bow-string) and French Knots (for the stars)..

Materials: DMC stranded cotton. Stitched on Zweigart 32ct “Black” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: Linger on this Lovely Night.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love the “Let There Be Night” series.  I love stitching on black and I love Assisi work.  I just love Jen and Mike’s sense of turning stitching conventions on the head with their charts.

So why haven’t I stitched it? I admit this one’s a little too sappy for me generally and if I had a choice, I would usually put it away in favour of one of the other designs in the series first.  But hey, it’s here now.  It only requires some DMC. And some of my favourite 32ct Belfast – that I am completely out of.

32ct Black and 32ct Cream. My favourite “go to” pieces and I am completely out of both. {shakes head} What is the state of this world?  {shakes fist} Damn you stash diet!  Oh well I have enough projects on the go already ….

Where can you buy it? As these are older designs, your LNS or ONS may have to specially order these in.  However you can order it and the rest in the series directly from Funk & Weber for $6US.

Discussion questions:  Are you a lover of stitching on black or do you avoid it like the plague? I find very few people are fence-sitters on black, most either love it or hate it.  Am I right or do you not care, you stitch it when the pattern calls for it and not worry at all about using it?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Funk & Weber, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lovely Night by Funk & Weber

  1. Sisu says:

    -raises hand from the fence-
    I don’t love or hate black fabric. I like just about any fabric. If the pattern calls for black, I will take it to my fabric stash and see if I agree with the designers choice. If I do, I don’t sweat it being on the black.

  2. Anna Teel says:

    I can’t say I am a lover of black but I was crazy enough to stitch a picture for each of my 6 for their 30th birthday,

  3. kay jones says:

    I do love black but these days its just too much for me to see. damn and blast…..

  4. Connie W says:

    I don’t hate black. I think it’s the perfect background for some designs. But stitching on black is not for me because I can’t see the threads. I know because I tried. (And now that I think of it, that’s my one and only ufo!)

  5. Laura says:

    I don’t know that I’ve stitched anything on black. The only fabric that’s ever caused me true distress is a very dark piece of sparkly fabric that I tried to use for L&L’s Blue Moon Angel. I just couldn’t find the way on it so it sits languishing in the UFO pile…

  6. Mel says:

    Sisu – it would be you on that fence 🙂

    Anna – what picture did you stitch on black for your kids?

    Kay – that was always my justification for stitching on black now – while I can 🙂

    Connie – Sorry to hear that 😦 Which design is that? Can it be done on a lighter coloured background or is the black fabric integral to the design?

    Laura – Sorry to hear that 😦 Is it worth trying again or subbing out for a lighter fabric?

Comments are closed.