Serendipity Fay by Passione Ricamo

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Serendipity Fay by Passione Ricamo

Copyright Laura G. Lattuda, 2008.

Passione Ricamo

Serendipity Fay by Passione Ricamo

Chart: The chart is print on a huge A1 size sheet of folded paper. Very unwieldy to work with. The symbols however, are large, clear, easy to see and differentiate. There are two extra chart sections given to show the cross stitch area without back stitching and the back stitching area without cross stitch. Except for the untidiness of the large sheet, the chart itself looks wonderful to work with. You are allowed to make a working copy of the pattern which should allow you to use a working copy of parts in manageable chunks.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitch, backstitch and beads.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton, Kreinik blending filament, Rainbow Gallery Petite Braids and Mill Hill beads. Stitched on Polstitches 28ct “Whisper” Jobelan.

Designer’s Notes: Here she is, the perfect companion to the Enchanted Fairy … She appeared to me in a moment of serendipity while I was painting in my garden at sunset. What impressed me were her beautiful multicoloured wings and her stole that seemed to be woven with the light of the setting sun, and sparkling like the pearls of the morning dewdrops. I sketched her quickly, as if she was guiding my hand. Too beautiful to be real, too peculiar … I saw and felt her as if she was by my side, and the serenity was complete, while a gentle scent of musk rose was spreading throughout the evening breeze. Now I’m inviting you to stitch her: she will bring you a lot of serenity.

Why I was attracted to this design: I love most of the Passione Ricamo fairies and I adore that she designs these on hand dyed fabrics. I don’t normally like pastels, but I love those wings!

So why haven’t I stitched it? I was given fabric for three Passione Ricamo charts at the same time one Christmas and of course I focused on trying to kit up and stitch the other two designs first.  One I started stitching and became stuck. The other I didn’t finish kitting up.  The irony I see now, is this chart is predominantly DMC with only 4 cards of Rainbow Gallery Petite Braid, 1 spool of Kreink BF and 2 packets of the same Mill Hill beads. I could have kitted this design up and had it mostly stitched while I was still mucking around with the other two designs (sigh).

Looking through my stash, this project could easily be started now.  I am only missing one card of Rainbow Gallery Petite Braid and the second packet of beads.

Tempting … tempting ….. am I confident enough to start a large design now – even one on such a nice pale background …. I’ll see if I have the DMC first …

Where can you buy it? This chart is definitely in print and can be purchased at all LNS or ONS stores for around $US20. And of course the Passione Ricamo site itself is having a 50% off sale this week.  (Which mum did not know about when she pulled this chart – because if there’s one thing I don’t share regularly with mum it’s sales and stashing!) This chart is RL-30 just for reference for the sale page.

Discussion questions:  What do think – do designs like this “pop” more on hand dyed fabrics or do you prefer them on plain neutrals? This is very much a personal choice and we do welcome dissenting voices here, it’s a friendly discussion 🙂

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Passione Ricamo, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Serendipity Fay by Passione Ricamo

  1. I love Passione Ricamo. I was even RAKed one of her charts a long time ago. I do have it kitted up somewhere except for fabric. I LOVE the fact that she uses hand dyed fabric behind her beauties. So many designs out there are on plain colors and she makes it fun to stitch hers by making the background just as pretty as her designs. Joan Elliot is another one that uses fun fabrics on a lot of her designs too.

    As for starting this one, I would say go for it because you can always get the braid and beads later when your stash diet is over but you did just start Meowry Christmas and the other one is planned. Don’t overwhelm yourself with too much because you might stall yourself out in the long run.

    Chele

  2. Sisu says:

    I LOVE this one. She is lovely. If you are finding a good time to stitch without the tension and vision troubles, I would work her in at that time, if not, I would wait a bit. You might get discouraged on her, as on the other 2, if your eyesight and thread tension aren’t playing nice.

  3. Julie Nemitz says:

    I love the colors in this one, Mel. Her wings are lovely, and so is her dress. I love the hand dyed fabby as well. So many designers put their models on boring colors, and they don’t really compliment the design. This one definitely does! If I were you, I’d start it right away, but then, I’m a serial starter, lol. Best of luck to you with it!!

  4. Mel says:

    Sisu and Chele – you are so right! I’m putting this one in the “to start” pile, but I wont start her until I’m comfortable with my stitching technique again.

    I’m happy to fudge to little designs, but yes I do get discouraged with the larger beautiful designs when my stitching it not up to standard.

Comments are closed.