Project A Day Update

Well Week 2 has come and gone and so far I’m still on track 🙂

Mum has become quite enthusiastic about the project and is the current “random chooser” each day.  She walks into the craft room, selects a box or folder at random, closes her eyes and plunges her hand in. What comes out is the Project of the Day.

When give me the chart she also informs me whether I’m “allowed” to give the chart away. This is before I’ve even seen which chart it is 🙂 I guess if we ever disagree that project will go into mum’s stash instead 🙂 or perhaps become a stitched present for her.

What do you think of the random selections?  Is there another way you think I should do this?  Should I include charts from magazines and books? I have hundreds of magazines in my stash too as well as a few books …

Updates on previous Projects:

3 Jan: Forever Love – still dithering on whether to use the 32ct mottled blue linen.

5 Jan: The Great Escape – technically a WIP. I still have to actually start this again.

10 Jan: Hell’s Gatekeeper – in the international mail to new home.

12 Jan: Generations: The Locket – comments close in three days.

14 Jan: Baroque Angel – comments close in five days.

15 Jan: Meowry Christmice – an actual WIP. I started this yesterday.

In other news, I’m thinking the “Project of the Day” should have a catchier name. Any suggestions?  The closest I could come to was “Mel’s Stash Dive” but that has no ring to it and could go sooo wrong so easily – also has nothing in it to indicate that is a Project-a-Day.

So while I’m a complete failure as a Marketing Guru, I’m hoping someone else can come with some ideas. I know some of you play with words … what have you got?  And be nice please 🙂

Any other thoughts, ideas, changes, improvements you would like to see on the Project-A-Day?

This entry was posted in Abi Gurden, Black Swan, Cross Stitch, Imaginating, Kustom Krafts, Project a Day, Stitchworks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Project A Day Update

  1. Stephen Silk says:

    The Daily SABLE Reminder 🙂

  2. Sandy says:

    I like the name a “Project A Day” because that’s what it is. I look forward to checking your blog just to see what project you chose that day. Your very fortunate that you have your mom to do this with.

    Sandyc in NJ

    • Mel says:

      Thanks Sandy! I think mum’s enthusiasm is directly tied to the fact that this is getting me to tidy up my stash area 🙂 Also she get’s to do the fun five second bit and toddle off 🙂

      In all seriousness, have a good mum, she’s pretty supportive of most things I do. Especially at the moment as she is my carer; she knows professionally that this type of project keeps me busy and happy.

      Knowing that I’m keeping other people entertained and amused is absolutely amazing! Thank you!

  3. tempewytch says:

    I am guessing that what gets pulled out gets put somewhere else otherwise you could end up with the same chart pulled 6 times :), stick with charts at the moment, move onto magazines and books later …

    • Mel says:

      Yup – I’m organising my stash as I go and the “Project A Day” charts that are not being given away or being turned immediately into WIPs are going into a uniquely coloured folder so I can grab them at a moment’s notice if I’m asked about any of them.

  4. Rae Kennon says:

    I like the Project a Day name too. I look forward every day to see what you will come out with next. This was a really great idea.
    Rae in Arkansas 🙂

  5. Mel says:

    Thanks Rae 🙂 I’m having a lot of fun – glad you and others are enjoying it too 🙂

Comments are closed.