Hooked on Music by Handblessings

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Hooked on Music by Handblessings

Copyright Eileen Gurak, 2007.

Handblessings

Hooked on Music by Handblessings

 

Chart: The chart is printed in large clear symbols over two pages. There is a nice clearly marked two-row overlap. My only concern is that you must look to the cover photo for placement of the charms.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: Caron Waterlilies silk, Gentle Art cottons and charms. Stitched on Zweigart 28ct “Lavender Bliss” Lugana.

Designer’s Notes: Music enriches our life. It helps us celebate our joys and express our sorrow. Hooked on Music pays tribute to the diversity of music.

Why I was attracted to this design: I have a couple of close personal friends who love all types of music. I thought this stitched up and framed could make a nice present.

So why haven’t I stitched it? This chart is relatively new in my stash. Although I’ve been thinking about this for a while, I’ve only had the actual chart a couple of months. Also the chart is only stitched in two colours, Waterlilies Amethyst and Gentle Art Sweet Pea. I thought of stitching the words “Hooked on” and the border in a third complementary colour.  But I would need to kit up the two colours and the fabric first before starting the floss toss to select the third colour.

Where can you buy it? Handblessings are a little more difficult to find, but they can be specially ordered in by your LNS or ONS. Chart usually retails for $US13.

Discussion questions:  Would you change the border colour above or just leave it with the two colours? Do you feel adding a third colour might pose too much of a risk of drawing the eye away from the MUSIC in the middle of the design?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Handblessings, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hooked on Music by Handblessings

  1. rocalisa says:

    Personally, I’d leave it at two colours. I think that yes, if you added something else, you might draw attention away from the Music. I think having the border and the music types the same colour works well. Just my opinion of course.

  2. Cindy in MA says:

    I agree. I think it should only be the 2 colors. That way MUSIC is the focus of the piece.

  3. Mel says:

    Kewl – thanks ladies – this is why I ask the questions – I actually want the advice! Thank you!

    I also found I had a piece of Lavender Bliss in the stash today! (I got confused with Lavender Bliss, Lavender Mist, Violet Mist – why must Zweigart use such similar names!) so this one is one step closer to being a WIP …

Comments are closed.