Meowry Christmice! by Imaginating

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Meowry Christmice! by Imaginating

Copyright Imaginating, Inc 1999.

Imaginating Designed by Holly Gordon

Meowry Christmice by Imaginating

Chart: The Chart is print on a folded A3 cardboard sheet. As it is a small design, the symbols are printed large and easy to see and delineate, even the fractional stitches.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitch and backstitch.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton. Stitched on 14ct White Aida. Partial stitches on 14ct Aida? You can bet I’m going to sub that out!

Designer’s Notes: None. This design is part of the Silly Snobs series.

Why I was attracted to this design: I have a fondness for the Silly Snobs series. my mum has stitched You Are What You Eat for me but we haven’t yet taken it to the framers.

So why haven’t I stitched it? To be perfectly honest, I cannot remember when I added this chart to my stash.  I don’t remember if this has languished for a long time or a short time. I know I tend to ignore to Christmas charts until oh the second week in December …

It’s a small chart – I might have the DMC in my stash … if so I might start it this afternoon. Watch this space as they say.

Where can you buy it? This chart is out of print so I would try eBay.  Otherwise try back here soon.

Discussion questions: Do you find seasonal pieces languish in your stash because it’s not the right time of year to stitch them? Alternatively, what fabric, other than white, should I stitch this?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Holly Gordon, Imaginating, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Meowry Christmice! by Imaginating

  1. I just did a general search for this pattern and 2 or 3 illegal sites came up. That is just terrible! Cute, cute pattern!

    Chele

  2. Sisu says:

    I do tend to ignore seasonal designs, but I only have one in my WIP’s anyway. It has come out, went to Florida and back with me, and has some progress on it. I will probably got back in teh WIP’s soon, but I haven’t rolled the dice since Christmas, so it is still my main.
    Your kitty would look good on a light mottled or solid green, or an ivory/gold metallic, but your antique white will work well too. Anything other than a true white. That would be too stark and jarring methinks.

    • Sisu says:

      That should say “It will probably go back in the WIP’s soon,”
      Is my brain that fried or was it auto-correcting me? LOL

      • Mel says:

        I do have some ivory/gold but too late, I had already started. Mum had already vetoed all of the blue and green offcuts I had pulled out of the stash. Oh well, Antique white it is. Old skool for an old skool design 🙂

        How’s your mojo going?

  3. Cathymk says:

    Last February I stitched and finished a Christmas piece, so I guess I’m happy stitching them whatever the season! This one is rather cute. I do like a good animal pun – I did Lizzie Kate’s “Meowy Christmas” and “Happy howl-idays” a few years ago.

  4. kay jones says:

    It should stitch up quick. I dont do Christmas ones. I’ve got a Noel banner which was done as an RR many moons ago and its still rolled up in a box and never seen a Christmas. Perhaps next year? or not.

  5. Teresa says:

    Mel, this is a great cat. Although I admit that it really is the mice that do it for me with this chart. I am looking forward to seeing how your version looks. Teresa

Comments are closed.