Baroque Angel by Mar Bek

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Baroque Angel by Mar Bek

Copyright Rebecca W Waldrop, 1982.

Mar Bek

Baroque Angel by Mar Bek

Chart: The Chart is print on a folded A3 cardboard sheet. Symbols are computer-generated and printed in shades of red and black. Symbols are clear and easy to read.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches and backstitch.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton and Kreinik blending filament. Stitched on Pale Pink 22ct Hardanger fabric.

Designer’s Notes: To Bill Willard … whose simple, unwavering courage and profound reverence for life inspired both our lives and this, his personal angel.

Why I was attracted to this design: This is the very first Mar Bek angel. At the time this was released, I had just joined the SCA (a medieval/renaissance recreation group) and was in love with any design that have a historical clothing aspect. Also at the time my sister had just gotten engaged (for the first time) and I had thoughts of stitching this and other Mar Bek angels for potential nieces.

So why haven’t I stitched it? My one and only niece didn’t arrive for another 10 years and then only lived for four months. I’m also long away from the SCA. As well as the emotional baggage, time has moved on between me and these charts. If I decide I need to stitch angels now, there are other, newer designs that call to me more.  These were great designs for their time, but for me, time has moved on.

This is another pattern I’m offering away free. Note: it is an old chart and not in the best condition. Comment below and tell me why this chart calls to you and where I know you from.  If more than one person answers I’ll use the random number generator to select a winner. I’ll select from the comments in one week.

Where can you buy it? This design is well out of print but regularly comes up on eBay. Otherwise, do comment below, because I am giving away my copy.

Discussion questions:  I’m sure I couldn’t have been the only person to collect the Mar Bek angels? Any one else have these in their stash?  Did anyone stitch any, especially the earlier designs?  If so could you put a link to a photo in the comments section?

JANUARY RECAP: Added 1 February 2012
Rather than waiting for the Mar Bek charts to come out one at a time, I’m going to go through all of my Mar Bek charts tonight with mum and put up a list tomorrow of all the items that no longer call to me. Not sure how many there will be, but as I first mentioned them on via this blog, I will offer the rest of them out to people via this blog. Check back tomorrow for details.

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Mar Bek, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Baroque Angel by Mar Bek

  1. Anna Teel says:

    I would love to be considered for this angel. I was on BAPS with you for seceral years. I have six L&L angels on my walls for my children when they reach their 50th birthday. I have hd the MarBek Nativity in my stash for years, I am not ready to spend as much as it will take for all the supplies at this point.

    • Mel says:

      Anna, how have you been? How’s life?

      • Anna Teel says:

        Life is good except retirement is more time less money. I am still stitching and have started doing a little crochet. I am working on L&L’s Michael for my son, Michael. I have ten years to get it done before he is fifty.
        Anna

        • Mel says:

          Well you’ve given yourself a nice long lead time – lack of stress is a good thing! I’ll email your for your postal address and send you this chart out in the mail 🙂

  2. JoanneP/Philadelphia says:

    Mel,
    I stitched quite a few of the early Marbek Angels and gave most as gifts. These are the charts that got me started on counted cross stitch. I have all but the limited edition Garden Angel, and the Nativity. Someday…

    • Mel says:

      Joanne, I have a lot of the Mar Bek angels in my stash and I will be probably be giving most of them away as they surface, but I don’t have either of those two charts sorry.

      I loved these charts when I first collected the in the early 90s and they are still gorgeous charts, but to be honest, there are now so many other designs in my stash that I would stitch first that I’m better off giving these away so they will actually get stitched instead of continuing to languish.

  3. Mel says:

    JANUARY RECAP: Added 31 January 2012
    Rather than waiting for the Mar Bek charts to come out one at a time, I’m going to go through all of my Mar Bek charts tonight with mum and put up a list tomorrow of all the items that no longer call to me. Not sure how many there will be, but as I first mentioned them on via this blog, I will offer the rest of them out to people via this blog. Check back tomorrow for details.

  4. Anna says:

    Thank you, Mel, I received the angel, some lovely fabric an a couple of spools of Kreinink blending filament today in the mail. They are lovely. I am going to start this angel as soon as I finish Michael by L&L.
    Anna

Comments are closed.