The Witch’s Pantry by Lisa Cowell

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

The Witch’s Pantry by Lisa Cowell

Copyright Lisa Cowell, 2004-2005.

Lisa Cowell

Witch's Pantry by Lisa Cowell

Chart: The chart is spread over two oddly sized pages (8.5 x 14″). I presume this was an attempt to reduce illegal copying. The symbols on the chart are smaller than I would like, but they are clear and easy to read. There is a large overlaps of rows between the two pages for ease of transition. There is another chart on the third page showing all the backstitching and highlighting which threads are used for which backstitching.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, quarter cross stitch and backstitch.

Materials: Crescent colours cottons. Stitched on Charles Craft 28ct Black Murano.

Designer’s Notes: Even a witch needs her chocolate.

Why I was attracted to this design: At the time I was being called a “Witch with a B” by a few friends who shall remain nameless 🙂 and I am a well-known chocoholic.  Plus it has the bold colours on black fabric that I lave so well and yet was so rare at the time.

So why haven’t I stitched it? I bought this in 2005 or 2006, when I was first exploring the world of cross stitch on the Internet.  This chart calls for 21 different Crescent Colour thread colours. At the time I barely had the DMC I needed for the projects I was already stitching. I had no idea where to buy these threads let alone how to afford so many at once.

And then this chart languished in my stash, completely forgotten until now.  Looking through my threads this afternoon, I still only have 2 of the needed threads in my now huge stash 🙂 I guess I just don’t have Crescent Colours in my stash.

Where can you buy it? Although this is an older chart, your LNS can still order it through Hoffmans.  Alternatively you can buy it direct from Lisa Cowell for $US10.

Discussion questions:  What was the first chart you bought that when you saw the list of items needed your heart sank? I have many others in my stash that need lots more threads and beads and treasures etc, but I remember that this was my first that had hand-dyed threads only with no DMC conversion available. So which was your first?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Lisa Cowell, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Witch’s Pantry by Lisa Cowell

  1. Sisu says:

    My first ‘Oh No’ project was a Mill Hill pattern. I had done a few of their kits that came with a couple colors of beads and an embellishment or 2. When I saw this winter sampler chart, I loved the deep greens and rust reds. I glanced at the floss list, bought the metallics I needed, and thought I would pick up the beads later. When later rolled around, I was a little shocked to find the price tag for all the embellishments and beads it called for was of $250. But….thanks to a couple Secret Sister exchanges on another group, I ‘think’ I have all but one or 2 of the bead colors. I really need to find which box I put it all in and get it started.

    • Mel says:

      WoW! What was the pattern? And yes you definitely need to get that one out and get it started 🙂 List which beads if any you haven’t got .. you know … just in case the right ones happen to be sitting next to an envelope somewhere in the world …

  2. As I have champagne tastes and a brown ale income, this happens to me a lot. First heart attack inducing project would have been a Mirabilia. I am pretty sure it was Santa’s Magic followed closely by Crystal Christmas. Beads and braids were the downfall on both of them. Then I discovered Chatelaine a few years later and tat is when I mastered the art of substitution! At present I can’t even afford DMC so I’m having to be really careful with what I have and stitch from ready kitted stash or old WIP’s

  3. Laura says:

    Well, I’m sure I’ve had several along the way but one of the biggest was when Katie started stitching and picked up a free chart at the LNS. I ended up spending about $50 in supplies for this FREE chart!!! JABCO is notorious for doing this. It makes me quite twitchy!!

Comments are closed.