Aurora Polaris by The Stitcher’s Habit

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Aurora Polaris by The Stitcher’s Habit

Copyright Carol Scott Higeli, 1997.

The Stitcher's Habit

Aurora Polaris by The Stitcher's Habit

Chart: The Chart is print on a folded A3 cardboard sheet. Although hand-drawn, the symbols are large, clear and easy to see and differentiate. There are large swathes of single colour; no confetti stitching.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitch, backstitch and blackwork.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton, DMC Metallics, Kreinik blending filament and Mill Hill beads. Stitched on Zweigart 28ct “Blue Spruce” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: According to some Native folklore, the Aurora is “the dance of the animal spirits”, especially those of Deer, Seals, Salmon and Beluga. The Polar Bear – Ursus Maritimus or “Sea Bear” – is aptly named as it is able to swim distances greater than 60 miles without pausing for rest.

Why I was attracted to this design: The Polar Bear and cub are soooo cute!  And again it is on a darker background with I love. And it has metallics for the bling. Come on, look at those bears and tell me you don’t go “awwwwww …..”

So why haven’t I stitched it? I have has this chart in my stash for-evah!  However I always thought there were three charts in the same Polar Bear series.  Just now looking for them on the Stitcher’s Habit website. I can only find one other called Star Light. I hadn’t stitched this one because I wanted to acquire all three charts and then stitch all three of them on the same fabric.  Now I find there’s only two charts all this time.

Hmmm …. I’d better search through my stash and see if I have the other chart and a large enough piece of Blue Spruce or another similar dark blue. Hmm Maybe a nice piece of Picture This Plus Twilight might look nice? No Mel – no shopping!

Where can you buy it? Although Star Light is listed on many ONS sites, Aurora Polaris may need to be ordered in by special request, so I would suggest asking your favourite ONS or LNS.  The price should be the same as Star Light, $6 US .

Discussion questions:  What would you use as a replacement for boring old Blue Spruce?  Or would you leave the background plain as a hand-dyed would detract from the metallic bling of the titular Polaris?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Stitcher's Habit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Aurora Polaris by The Stitcher’s Habit

  1. tempewytch says:

    According to the website there are three Polar Bear patterns, Aurora Polaris, Dance in the Moonlight and Star Light.

    • Mel says:

      Dance in the Moonlight looked to be in a different style to the other two. What do you think?

      • tempewytch says:

        There is that but I was wondering if that was why you thought there were three originally? – Personally I would stick with Aurora Polaris and Star Light.

  2. cathymk says:

    I stitched an ornament by The Stitchers Habit from one of the JCS Christmas Ornament issues – it was a polar bear on dark-ish fabric. I gave it away to a friend (sad that I did it now, looking at the design above – it was so cute when it was finished).

    I am really enjoying this series Mel! So many interesting charts.

    • Mel says:

      Thanks Cathy, Glad you are enjoying the series – if you have any suggestions of designers or different things about each design you’d like me to include, please let me know 🙂

      Do you have a pic of the Polar Bear ornament? I don;t think I have that chart and I bet he is really cute 🙂

      • cathymk says:

        I could probably pull the issue for the piccy – (cause you know, I could have never thrown it away – strange that I have no problem weeding at work – if they would let me at the shelves…) – I stitched the design before I had an internet lifestyle … seems like a lifetime ago now.

  3. I am loving this too. I haven’t deleted a single email notification because most of them look so good. If Scott isn’t fired on Tuesday, I just might be investing in some of them. Especially these two, they are adorable and I love the Polaris effect on both of them!

    Chele

  4. rocalisa says:

    I went looking in my stash because I knew I had a Stitcher’s Habit design that I always associated with those polar bears. It turns out it’s not polar bears at all, but wolves. Wolf Moon – http://www.stitchershabit.com/designs.asp?ID=sh019

    I really love it, but also know I’ll never get to stitch it, so if you’d like to add it to your Stitcher’s Habit designs, Mel, just let me know and I’ll put it in the post.

    • Mel says:

      I dithered about this a bit Kerry and I finally decided yes please. Yes I would actually stitch this up and it would not just end up lot in my stash for years. So yes please 🙂

  5. Lana says:

    This is soo cute, Mel! I absolutely love it. Question though, is there an effect like the Aurora Borealis in that part of the country?

    • Mel says:

      I have no idea Lana. I’m in Australia – the other side of the world. I choose to beleive that yes it does exist there 🙂

  6. Stephen Silk says:

    Google for “Aurora Australis”

    Oh, speaking of which, go and check out today’s Google Doodle.

  7. Jennifer King says:

    When I went to the site I found 3 polar bear charts: Aurora Polaris (SH013), Dance in the Moonlight (SH024) and Star Ligth (SH040).

Comments are closed.