Quaker Floral Puzzle by Ink Circles

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Quaker Floral Puzzle by Ink Circles

Copyright Tracy Horner 2009.

Ink Circles

Quaker Floral Puzzle by Ink Circles

Chart: The chart has large clear easy to read and easy to differentiate symbols.  t is a large piece and the chart is broken over nine pages, helpfully assisted with an overlap of three rows left and above on each successive page.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches only.

Materials: The design was model-stitched using DMC on 40ct Lakeside Linen fabric. I have been gifted a HDF conversion thread kit and 32ct Royal Blue evenweave.

Designer’s Notes: “This design is made up of little floral bits and pieces taken from traditional Quaker samplers arranged in a mandala format. I call it a Quaker puzzle, as the motifs interlock like a jigsaw.”

Why I was attracted to this design: I love Ink Circles designs. I love designs on dark fabrics. With my migraines, I thought a design using only whole stitches and made of lots of discrete sections might be good for me to stitch.  It would be easy enough for me to stitch, while still having enough “milestone moments” to keep me going with colour and pattern changes to keep me interested.

So why haven’t I stitched it? The chart, thread pack and fabric were birthday gifts from Kay last August.  I had always planned this to be my New Year’s start this year but I have not felt my stitching has been consistent enough to do justice to this piece.

I just don’t have the fine eyesight now to see the tension in my stitches. Hopefully as the migraines settle down, and I regain this aspect of my eyesight I can start this piece.

Where can you buy it? This chart can is still circulation and can easily be bought from your LNS, ONS or directly from Ink Circles for $16.00

Discussion questions: Have you stitched a HDF conversion thread pack.  What are Vicki’s conversion’s like? And yes everyone is going to have a differing opinion on this – it’s OK to disagree as we all may have differing experiences 🙂

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Ink Circles, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quaker Floral Puzzle by Ink Circles

  1. Paula Shelgren says:

    My friend Deb has started Ink Circles Quaker Floral Puzzle. She is doing it on PTPlus Dusk and it is beautiful, the colors just pop on that dark fabric

  2. kay jones says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing this one. Its such a lovely design

  3. Mel says:

    Kay, I’ve had this one sitting next to me on the couch for months. I keep looking at my stitching waiting for my eyes to settle because I really want to do this one and Chatelaine Houppelande justice. So they are sitting there … in plain sight, just waiting.

    Oooh Paula, this would look absolutely fabulous on Dusk !!!!! Oooh so tempting …..

  4. Rae Kennon says:

    I really like Ink Circles designs. I have a couple of charts to stitch if and when I get my mojo back. Until then I just sit stare, well more or less stalk the charts and photos.

Comments are closed.