Scarlet Unspoken by Dimples Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Scarlet Unspoken by Dimples Designs

Copyright Terrence Nolan 2003.

Dimples Designs

The Scarlet Unspoken by Dimples Designs

Chart: Chart is shown three times. Once over a number of pages in large clear easy-to-follow symbols and a second time so you can see how it all comes together and a third time on one page showing the final over-stitching to finish the design.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial cross stitch and backstitch.

Materials: DMC stranded cotton, Kreinik blending filament & #4 braid and Mill Hill beads. Stitched on Wichelt 32ct “Lambswool” Linen.

Designer’s Notes: None. This design does have the companion piece Blue Mariah, also in my stash 🙂

Why I was attracted to this design: I love historical costuming and these two charts appealed.  They were of corsets, but the charts weren’t smutty or sleazy or titillating. They were elegant, almost art pieces.  I like that.

So why haven’t I stitched it? These charts have been in my stash for years and years, since around 2005?  Back then, and to some extent now, if the pattern calls for a specific hand-dyed or coloured fabric I liked to get *that* fabric.  If it was a white or neutral background I would change it with ease, but not a coloured background.  In all these years, I have still never had my hands on a piece of “Lambswool” fabric to see what it is supposed to look and feel like.  So I haven’t felt comfortable changing it out and choosing a different fabric for these charts.  I suspect the Zweigart Lugana “Potato” I have in my stash would work just as well, but I’m hesitant because dammit, I want to see what this Lambswool is.

And when you as many charts in your stash as I have and as many Works in Progress and as short an attention span – that is all that is needed, to keep beautiful charts like these from being stitched.  And no, I’m not putting an order in for Lambswool today. Buying the fancy Stretcher Bars yesterday took this fortnight’s stash budget 🙂

Where can you buy it? This chart can still be bought from some LNS or ONS for $8US or UK5.63 .

Discussion questions: So what do you think – Is Zweigart’s Potato an acceptable substitute for Wichelt’s Lambswool? Have you stitched a Dimples Design chart – what did you think of it?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Dimples Designs, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scarlet Unspoken by Dimples Designs

  1. Kat says:

    Cant say on the potato v lambs wool colors, but I’m always up for substituting, and I would think of both of those as fairly neutral colors.

    I have a Dimples Design in my WIP pile (Enchantment of Winter). I actually gridded my fabric for that and I’m glad I did because the chart pages don’t show overlap.

  2. Sisu says:

    Mel, if you have sen pics of my Lady of Shallot (sp-Shalott?) by TW, it is on Lambswool. It is just a neutral fabric, slightly darker and more in the tan range than an antique white is, but not by much. Is is not a hand dyed, so I think you are fine to use any neutral light color you have on hand. Just have enough for both designs.

  3. Mel says:

    I’ve been advised that Potato is a much coarser looking fabric than Lambswool, so I’m leaving this for now. I do have a lead on where I can get some Lambswool at a decent price (see blog post: Public Confession Time) but I’ve decided to stop buying cross stitch stash for the time being. If I kept buying a bit here and a bit there for each day’s chart I would be in a lot of debt by the end of the year, so I’m drawing a line in the sand here and saying no more 🙂 Anything I don’t have will be going up in my Wish Lists and I’ll have a look at them later in the year when my financial situation may have changed. So this one wont be stitched for a while unfortunately.

  4. Laura says:

    I love this one. It’s on my Wish List. ::sigh:: I have no idea what I’d do with it when I finished it but I do love it!

Comments are closed.