Glitz & Glamour Onyx by DebBees Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Glitz & Glamour Onyx by DebBees Designs

Copyright Debbie Rowley 2009

Glitz and Glamour DebBees Designs

Glitz & Glamour Onyx by DebBee's Designs

Chart: Chart is a 36 page ringbound booklet. It has clear large diagrams of all the different stitches and spaces to list where we choose different threads from those recommended.

Stitches: Pattern uses Bargello, Rhodes diamonds, Satin stitches, Waffle stitches, Sprat’s Head triangles, Upright Waffle stitches, Herringbone squares and Straight stitch.

Materials: Rainbow Gallery Frosty Rays, Neon Rays, Fyre Werks, Gold Rush, Silk Lame, Cresta d’Oro and Patina. Kreinik #12 Braid and Micro Ice Chenille. Caron Collection Snow and Impressions and YLI Ribbon Floss. Stitched on 18ct Black Mono Canvas.

Designer’s Notes: “The smooth black of natural onyx is highlighted with touches of silver. Natural onyx ranges from black to white, but I chose to focus on the drama of all black for this design. I chose a 4-way Bargello style, with some large decorative elements. The decorative elements are stitched with different threads to give you a chance to play with the wonderful threads available.”

Why I was attracted to this design: I love black.  I love stitching on black and I love black designs.  I adore “Gothic” designs.  So a design that was layers and texture of black on black?  It was designed for me!  I had to have this !!!  I even have it completely kitted up!

So why haven’t I stitched it? I’m chicken 🙂  I haven’t stitched a Canvas Work piece this large yet so I have to “gird my loins”.  I also have to obtain a set of 12″ stretcher bars.  I always forget to add the stretcher bars when I’m placing an online order 😦  {pause}

OK I’ve done it. I’ve just ordered a set of 12″ stretcher bars.  Actually I ordered a set of those fancy stretcher bars that can be micro-adjusted to keep them tight.  Well when the gods of International Shipping decide to be kind to me, you might just see this one become a WIP.  Remind me in a month or two if I haven’t mentioned that the stretcher bars have arrived.

Where can you buy it? This chart can be purchased via your LNS or ONS for $16US.

Discussion questions: Have you stitched any of DebBees designs? Do you like the Glitz and Glamour series?  Am I completely bonkers for stitching a completely black on black design?  Anyone want the chart when I’m finished?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, DebBee's Designs, Project a Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Glitz & Glamour Onyx by DebBees Designs

  1. rocalisa says:

    Mel, my dear, we already knew you were bonkers. 🙂

    So embrace it and enjoy yourself.

  2. kay jones says:

    I like it although I’m sure the real peice will look better than the picture. Unfortunately stitching on dark fabric is beginning to become a trial for me which sucks…. I would love to see this stitched though and it doesn’t look too difficult so you could do it in small bites. Go on…..

  3. Mel says:

    Kay, It’s plastic canvas – so really big holes 🙂
    Kerry you’re right – I am bonkers – I should embrace it!

    I am going to start this one when the stretchers bars arrive.

  4. kay jones says:

    Good for you. It should be a quite relaxing stitch and if it gets difficult then stop and go do something else. Do you knit? Thats easy and relaxing.

    • Mel says:

      I do have needles and yarn, Whether I remember how to knit with a Swiss Cheese brain is a different question. If the stretcher bars don’t turn up soon I might find out!

  5. Rae Kennon says:

    I know Debbie and she is a wonderful person. I have several of her patterns but none from the glamor and glitz series. Her instructions are clear and easy to read. I have taken a couple of cleses from her and have learned a lot in each one. I am currently working on Shenandoah Spring and I am doing it on a black canvas with various cream and grey threads. I’m really looking forward to seeing it, and yours complete.
    Rae in ArkansasI

    • Mel says:

      Ooooh Rae you lucky girl! I have a few of Debs charts in my stash although this is the first I have kitted up. Her directions look excellent. Well I know who to talk to when I get stuck now 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Thanks sweetheart!

  6. Laura says:

    I have a couple of Deb’s designs on my Wish List but haven’t purchased any yet. This one is stunning! Can’t wait to see your progress on it.

Comments are closed.