Forever Love by Stitchworks

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Forever Love by Stitchworks

Copyright The Stitchworks, Ltd 2011.

The Stitchworks

Forever Love by The Stitchworks

Chart: Chart is clear, easy to read and as this is a small design, the chart is on one page.

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, partial stitches and back stitch.

Materials: DMC cottons, Gentle Arts cottons, Weeks Dye Works cottons, Kreinik metallics and includes a plastic or bone button. Stitched 25ct White Lugana.

Designer’s Notes: None.

Why I was attracted to this design: Good question.  I usually violently oppose anything cutesy or pink.  I was the girl whose favourite dress was black with red bobbles (it was the 70s) and hated pastels and most of all pink. But I like this.  It’s simple and elegant without being frilly or over-the-top. Also it appeals to the romantic in me.  She’s kept locked away by the cynic most of the time by she does escape occasionally.

So why haven’t I stitched it?  I bought this early last year on a whim as soon as it was released but I didn’t own a skerrick or 25ct fabric.  Also I was trying to stick to the rotation of projects I was stitching at the time.  Fast forward to December 2011 I find a piece of 25ct white or off white fabric in my stash (from the ubiquitous Needle Delights Closing Down Sale) and I give it to a friend for Christmas completely forgetting which design I bought it for.  These things happen.  And if I wasn’t writing this project for this blog, I never would have connected the two.

Also I think I had vague notions of including more hand-dyed threads.  Only two of the balloons are in hand-dyed threads, one Thread Gatherer and one Weeks and the white hearts inside the balloons are in Kreinik metallics – the rest are straight DMC.

Where can you buy it? This can be bought via your LNS, ONS or direct from Stitchworks for $8US

Discussion questions: How would you think this would look on a sky blue and white mottled background? So it looks like balloons in a sky? It has a button on it and I usually use the exact size called for when the charts come with charms or buttons.  In this case do you think that is essential or could I get away with a 28ct? What other colours would you use to replace the DMC? Has anyone else stitched this? Do you like or dislike this design?  Why?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch, Cross Stitch Designer, Project a Day, Stitchworks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Forever Love by Stitchworks

  1. Connie W says:

    I think this design would look great on a sky blue and white fabric – and there wouldn’t be much difference in size on 28 ct. As far as colors for replacing the DMC, hey, they’re balloons! Pick a color, any color. . . lol

    • Mel says:

      Found a perfect mottled light blue in my stash … unfortunately its a 32ct. Might be just a tad too small with that button ….

  2. Sisu says:

    Use the 32 count and just stitch the ballon behind the button a tad bigger if the button looks too big.

  3. Laura says:

    Very sweet! I like this one, but I like most things with hearts as part of the pattern. Have you settled on something to stitch this one?

    • Mel says:

      Still dithering on whether to use the perfect 32ct I have or to buy a 25ct as recommended. That button bothers me.

Comments are closed.