Review: A Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones
A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

With all the hype of the TV series coming out I finally plunged into the books. No I haven’t seen the TV series yet and having read Book 1 I have pre-ordered the DVD of Season One just to see how they have made this visually come to life. George R R Martin has created such a rich fantasy world of landscapes and settings I want to see if the cinematographers and props departments have really done them justice – all the people i trust say they have!

However back to the reason I read books – the plot and the characters. The broad plot lines are familiar for those who read the genre and I figured out most of the twists and where the plot was going fairly well ahead of time. However I have read a *lot* of this type of stuff so I might be different to the average reader.

What really impressed me were the characters. I loved the characters in this, loved to watch the younger generation grow and change and mature.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Books, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: A Game of Thrones

  1. Be aware – Martin is *not* afraid to kill characters, even well-loved ones.

    • Mel says:

      I was trying to keep the review spolier-free so I’m trying not to go into details. Lets just say that of the deaths that did happen in the first book, I saw them coming and could see from a narrative view as to why they were killed off. So if Martin keep to killing for a narrative reason rather than just to piss off readers, then I’m OK with that. The beloved main character death near the end of the book was completely necessary from a narrative point of view, because he wasn’t really a main character – not taken in context. The same way as, to me, Gandalf isn’t a main character in the Lord of the Rings series.

      I do already have a couple of favourite characters in the younger generation, one of which was almost killed off as soon as we met him and the other I really hope will come out on top by the end of the series. I suspect both will be dead by the end of book 2 simply because I do like them so much.

      • Oh, I haven’t read them yet, but I’ve listened to enough people talk about them to know that characters die if necessary. And that’s the important bit – if necesary. So I don’t think you ned worry.

Comments are closed.