Love Potion #9 by Ruby Slipper Designs

A Project A Day – Counted embroidery work is my main hobby and I have a huge stitching stash. Some of these projects are huge and take years to stitch, and while others are quick projects, I often spend months without stitching at all. So while I have hundreds in my stash, only a half-dozen ever see attention any given year.  To address this imbalance in 2012 I will each day write about one project languishing in my stash.

Love Potion #9 By Ruby Slipper Designs

Copyright Gail Reinhardt 2004, Distributed by Sitting Pretty Presents

Love Potion Number Nine Ruby Slipper Designs Sitting Pretty Presents

Love Potion #9 - Ruby Slipper Designs

Chart: Uses large clear symbols on heavy paper. Clear easy to see pattern!

Stitches: Pattern uses whole cross stitches, quarter stitches, back stitch.

Materials: Caron Waterlilies silks, Gloriana silks, Rainbow Gallery metallics, Kreinik metallics, Mill Hill beads, Mill Hill Treasures on Silkweavers Opalescent “Strawberry Sparkle”.

Designer’s Notes: “This chart came to be one evening while riding in my car listening to my favourite “oldie” station on the radio when I heard the song ‘Love Potion #9’ and thought to myself “wouldn’t it be fun if we could all make our own Love Potion”. The rest is history.”

Why I was attracted to this design: Silks, metallics, bling! And I’m a sucker for the song too! I love psychedelic designs, as evidenced by Party Cat 🙂 It’s a relatively small design at 7 x 11″ so it would reward with a quick finish while still being large enough to frame and admire on the wall. The use of the purple for the smoke reminds me of the old TV Show “I Dream of Jeannie”.  All over the project just makes me smile whenever I see it.

So why haven’t I stitched it?  Although I’ve lusted after this one for years, it’s quite new in my stash. I finally acquired the chart as part of the Needle Delights closing down sale bargains in November 2011.  I have some of the silks and some Silkweavers “Strawberry Milkshake” fabric in my stash which should work as a substitute, but I am missing all the metallics, the Waterlillies silks and the Mill Hill beads and treasures.  I think the treasures alone might cost a small fortune to purchase.  But at some point I will find them on sale and then stitch up this beautiful design.

Where can you buy it? As this is an older design, I can’t actually find a link to a store online that is selling it now. I suggest you contact Stitching Pretty Presents to buy the chart from them directly. Alternatively, ask your local LNS or check with eBay.  Your other option is to urge me to stitch this up now so I can pass you the chart as soon as I finish it 🙂  I will do so if you encourage me enough 🙂

Discussion questions: Does anyone have this design in their stash. Have your stitched it?  Did you change the colours? What did you think of the design as you stitched it? Any thoughts on the designer or the pattern? Should I still stitch this?

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Ruby Slipper Designs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love Potion #9 by Ruby Slipper Designs

  1. kay jones says:

    Look on Sew and So’s sale site. They’ve got some metallics and waterlillies half price. What are the Mill Hill beads and treasures. Numbers please. Who knows someone may have a few of these languishing away somewhere and could spare a few beads.

    • Mel says:

      Being completely honest, I checked Sew and So’s sale pages yesterday when typing this up but didn’t see anything I needed for this project (rueful grin). I did put the list of items I still need up on the Wish List – via Project page. I’ll be adding more projects to that page as I get organised this year to make life easier for myself for when such sales are on and one of these Projects-of-the-Day screams to be started.

  2. Laura says:

    This one is totally cute! If you get to the end and it needs a new home, it could fly my direction! LOL

Comments are closed.