Cooking: Hazelnut Gluten-Free Puddings

I believe this recipe from nutritionist Catherine Saxelby is from a recent issue of the Australian New Idea magazine but as I’ve received it as a single torn-out page I cannot verify this.  I can verify that I cooked these yesterday!

The original recipe is as follows although I made a few minor changes.  Well to be honest I tried to halve the recipe, stuffed it up, tried to rescue it and ended up with something similar but wholly not unlike the original.

I’ve included the original recipe because I cannot replicate exactly what I did and I hope the original tastes as good as what as I did as my version had rave reviews and I’ve had requests for more please.  And by putting the recipe here, I’ll be able to find it, whereas a single torn out page from a magazine has no hope of longevity in my home.  Nor have I found this recipe online to link to it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups mixed dried fruit (Australian cups are 250ml)
  • 1/4 cup hazelnut-flavoured liqueur (I used Frangelico)
  • 1/2 cup hazelnut meal (or ground hazelnuts)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 75 gm unsalted butter, melted (I think mine was normal butter)
  • 1/4 cup water (you can leave this out if you accidentally go overboard on the Frangelico)
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten (I always forget to pre-beat my eggs)
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free plain flour (I used GF Self-raising flour and halved the Bicarb)
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 teaspoon of mixed spice (you might to increase this)
  • Custard to serve (we used double cream instead as we ate these warm from the oven)

Method:

  1. Soak fruit and liqueur, covered, overnight at room temperature.  I soaked mine for a day and a night in a glass measuring glass covered in cling wrap (plastic film).
  2. Lightly grease six ovenproof dishes (3/4 cup capacity).  I halved the recipe but still ended up needing four ramekins.  Ever tried to halve a recipe that calls for three eggs?
  3. Add hazelnut meal, sugar, butter, water and eggs to fruit. Mix well.  Stir in combined sifted flour, soda and spice.  Don’t you hate instructions that don’t start with the beginning ingredient – that line should have started with the fruit! Needless to say, I started with the first ingredient mentioned, added it to a clean bowl and kept adding until it said mix.  Then kept adding the remaining ingredients until it said mix again or until I ran out of ingredients.  Bugger these instructions that contain other instructions within them.
  4. Spoon 1/3 cup mixture into each dish. Cover each dish tightly with a double layer of greased foil. Place in a roasting pan. Add enough boiling water to come halfway up the sides of dishes. One third of a cup of mixture fills about 3/4 of a three-quarter cup sized ramekin. My brain says the maths doesn’t work that way but the 1/3 measuring cup and the almost full ramekin told me differently, so that’s when I greased a fourth ramekin. This was the point when I thought my little tweaks might have been a bit more than tweaks.  Also wasn’t sure what “cover tightly” meant. I wrapped the aluminium foil tightly around the ramekins, but I didn’t fasten it there by using rubber bands or string.  Mainly because I couldn’t find any rubber bands or string – a good thing as I later found out.
  5. Cook in a moderately slow oven 160C (320F  as we have a fan-forced oven I used 150C/300F) for one hour or until cooked (how can you tell??). Remove dishes from pan. Stand for 10 minutes before turning out onto plates. They had swelled up to the top of the ramekin but not over.  Perfectly sized!
  6. Serve puddings warm or cold with a gluten-free custard.  We served warmed, straight from turning out onto bowls after 10 minutes with double cream from the fridge.

Comments were:

Very yum – Better than store-bought – We’re definitely having these again.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.