Confession

Gotta confess to talking about my stitching a lot lately to cover the fact that I’ve been feeling low.

There were a couple of great librarian conferences on in Perth this weekend. Following the live-tweeting I kept wanting to jump in and say “YES YES YES”! These people are MY people. These people were advocating to new recruits all the changes I would to happen to our industry. This is something I want to be a part of.  Instead I was sitting at home, as I have been for months, nursing a migraine. Sitting on the outside looking in. I felt I had nothing to contribute so I contributed nothing.

A friend of a friend asked if I would like to house-sit for them in Canberra next week.  I would love to.  It’s Spring, the weather has been glorious, Floriade has started, I could “do lunch” with various friends, maybe even a dinner out depending on circumstances.  But no.  We resume the meds increase on Wednesday and we wont know if there’s any adverse reactions until Friday or Saturday.  That leaves it far too late for the person to obtain a different sitter if things go pear-shaped so I regretfully declined.

Finally my tax rebate came in today.  I always knew it was going to be small, but it’s smaller than small. So a secret present project that had that money earmarked for it now needs a lot of rethinking.

I just want to independently earn my living again. A decent living. I just need a wetware upgrade. Is that too much to ask for?

This entry was posted in Health, Personal, Work Related Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.