Farewell my Friend

Trubs lasted through the night.  She purred when I took her to into my bed again, so I know that made her happy.

Unfortunately her condition continued to deteriorate. As well as losing the ability to walk, she lost the ability to stand during the night. This morning I could not get any water down her throat.

I rang the vets and took her in as soon as they opened.

She had numerous tongue ulcers which is why she had trouble eating and drinking and stopped grooming.  However, the ulcers were merely a symptom that she had suffered major organ failure, probably renal.  The vets could put her on a drip to increase her fluids and investigate which organ had failed, but they could not fix the tongue ulcers or reverse organ failure.

So basically we would be keeping her alive, in a veterinary clinic for no long-term improvement in health or happiness.

I was with her while they made the final injection, I was warned that in her condition it could take minutes, but she passed quickly, painlessly and knowing I was with her.

We have buried her little body in her favourite part of the garden and planted a gorgeous flowering shrub to mark her place. Her spirit is now free and in whatever place and manner of her choosing.

She was the first of our Four Cats of the Apocalypse and I believe she was the Last. Farewell my friend. We have been together for 17 years. You outlasted one marriage, one long-term relationship, a number of long distance relationships, one engagement, 4 states, 14 different houses, one cattery (and I am still sorry for that) and three other cats (Abby is still young which I know you hate).

I loved you for all of your life and I will miss you for all of the rest of mine.

This entry was posted in Cats, Personal, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Farewell my Friend

  1. @thorfi says:

    Many sympathies. She will always live on in the hearts of those who knew her.

  2. Bunnitos says:

    I’m so sorry you’ve lost such a good friend. *many many hugs*

  3. rocalisa says:

    I am so, so, so sorry to hear this. She has been a long and faithful friend to you when others haven’t been so reliable. I’m glad you were at your mum’s and not alone, unwell and far off in Perth when you lost her. It won’t make that loss any less terrible, but you have love and support around you. I need to go and hug my cat now.

    • Kerry said this so much better than I could as I read your sad news.
      Trouble will be very mcuh missed, even by those of us who hadn’t atually met her. She was one hell of a special cat.
      Big big loving hugs honey. They won’t help but that’s all I can do from here.xxxx

  4. There are just no words on a day like this. I’m not even going to try. Hugs and more hugs & yep, more hugs.

  5. I am so so sorry Mel! Many hugs and tears for you!

  6. Tempewytch says:

    RIP Trouble, I am so sorry you and she had to go through this Mel

  7. Sat here with more tears in my eyes. She is over the Rainbow Bridge causing havoc with her friends, no doubt completing her plan for world feline domination. Except now she has the company of the of the feline destroyer aka Harry. She went peacefully and with you and now she is no longer in pain. I will bet she comes back as a spirit to torment Abby!

  8. Mel says:

    I think there are more felines on the other side of the bridge for her to torment than this side now … she outlived all she met in her life except Abby, Keifer and Bandit…

  9. Sharon says:

    Oh Mel I’m so sorry to hear about Trubs.. i know how much you will miss her but just think she isn’t in pain anymore and she is looking down and I’m sure you will hear purrs and tellings off to Abby every so often. Lots of love and hugz Sharon

  10. Oh, Dearheart, I am so, so very sorry for your loss. Having had Chin for 18, I have some idea of how lost you are feeling about now. Know you did the right thing and that while you may be suffering from loss, Trubs is no longer suffering. I’m thinking of you and sending lots of hugs your way.
    Teegs

  11. kay jones says:

    So sorry Mel but you made the right decision at the right time. Thinking of you and sending you many hugs, especially today

  12. Anita says:

    Mel, I’m so sorry. I know there are no words to make your loss any better, but please know I’m thinking of you.

  13. Karen R in GA says:

    Mel, I am SO SORRY to hear about Trubs! I know first hand how hard it has been to watch her decline. I miss my old guy every day, despite all the “new” kids trying to fill the void… Many hugs to you…

  14. Mel says:

    Thank you everyone (especially those who visited this blog specifically to leave this message).

    It was a shock that she went so quickly and at this time of year. With the arthritis I had been worried in June-July and was now expecting her to perk up and be pain free for a few months so the timing took me completely by surprise.

    On the other hand, because she declined over the weekend, I could see the end coming (although I did not want to admit it) and I knew by Monday morning that the trip to the vets would be one way (though I was still holding out for a miracle). So I had time to process and get used to the idea. This was why I took her out into the garden on the Sunday afternoon and took the photos. I kinda knew by then that it was too late.

    So although I’m still plagued by woulda/coulda/shoulda I’m not as completely paralysed as I expected I would be.

    Thank you again to everyone who has sent me messages, tweets, texts, phone calls, letters, cards, and mental hugs over the last few days. Each of you have helped more than you could every know.

Comments are closed.