Google Plus

Yes I’m on Google Plus, and I will be moving some of my stitching updates to Google Plus later in the year.

What is Google Plus?  It’s like Facebook without being Facebook.  So far its smaller; you need an invite to get in unfortunately.  However I do have invites, so if you want one, let me know and I’ll send you an invite!

It also has much stricter Privacy controls that Facebook!  And has very easy to use Circles which you use to put your contacts into groups. You then decide which groups see which updates.  So for example, I can post stitching updates to just my stitching group or family related updates for just family members.

So that way if you make the classic Facebook mistake of skiving off work and you boss sees pics of you getting drunk all day on Google Plus then you really do deserve all you get 🙂

I have plans for some Christmas stitching presents for a couple of non-stitching friends who may be reading this open blog, so I’ll be moving those stitching updates to Google Plus when I start.

Anyway if anyone wants to join the few of us over there already, just ask for an invite 🙂  Non-stitchers invited too!

Aside | This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Google Plus

  1. Evening Mel,

    Do you think it would be worth it for me, I am not the worlds most frequent blogger!! LOL! If I remember it is time for a Sunday update we are lucky. It sounds a lot nicer than facebook though.

    Michele

    • Mel says:

      So far it has benefits over Facebook – privacy controls and no games 🙂 I’ve sent an invite to your gmail account so you can decide for yourself 🙂

      I figure it will be like all social media – some will love it, some will hate it and everyone else will go “meh”.

      • Danielle says:

        Hi Mel,
        I would love to try Google Plus. I’m a member of T.S.S. If you don’t feel comfortable sending me an invite no worries but I am interested if you are.

        • Mel says:

          I’ve sent you an invite Danielle. Happy to send out invites as long as I have them and people are interested 🙂

          • Danielle says:

            Thanks Mel,
            I joined last night. I’m still feeling my way around. Can you see my profile photo? That’s my beloved dog – Bear!
            D.

  2. Tempewytch says:

    Hmm sounds better than facebook, I have stopped posting on there as it all seemed about the games and nothing else

  3. kay jones says:

    Sounds good. Count me in

  4. Mel says:

    I’ve sent invites to both of your Yahoo accounts – let me know if it works – I don’t know if the invites are limited to Gmail accounts only still …

  5. Tempewytch says:

    I got an invite but it seems to have picked up on my gmail account

  6. kay jones says:

    Oh shit. does that mean I have to open a Gmail account?

  7. Mel says:

    Did the invite go through to your yahoo account? If not, then it seems, at the moment, that the invites are still restricted to gmail accounts …. 😦 It will open open up evenually if you want to wait – or you can can do what the rest of us do – open a gmail account and then get it to automatically forward everything through to the account you normally use.

    • kay jones says:

      Didnot see it but now have succumbed (what the hell have I done) and hsve a Gmail account. Ebberlykay

Comments are closed.