New stitching project – advice needed

OK I am really really excited about this …..

Dragon Feathers Afghan

No I’m not excited just because I’m stitching on black again.  No I’m not excited just because I can do subtly blended thread colour changes again (instead of all one colour).

This is why I’m excited ….

SQUEEEEEE !!!!!!      Yep – I’m stitching my very first afghan!  This thing is huge.  And the best part, it keeps me warm while I’m stitching it 🙂

The design will look like this when finished ….

Dragon Feathers Cover Picture courtesy of FantaCat Designs

As you can see I have so far stitched the top left tip of his horn – square 1 of the design 🙂

I literally spent hours yesterday poking in boxes finding the fabric and chart and then hunting down which DMC I had here in the house.  I’ve specially ordered in the Kreinik #8 from Amy at Down Sunshine Lane (7 spools!) and will collect the rest of the DMC when we next go into the city in a fortnight’s time for the next medical tests.  I should have enough to get me through until then.  This design is going to go through soooo many skeins of DMC!

Then I spent another hour counting the squares to make sure I was starting in the correct square and then counting every hole in the square to make sure I was starting at the correct starting point.  Turns out these squares don’t count in from the very edge, they count in one whole stitch (two squares) from the edge.  I counted many many times before I believed this.

Anyway – for those experienced at afghan stitching: any hints, tips, suggestions advice ????  Please! All knowledge, wisdom, warnings, anecdotes gratefully received!

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Designer, Fanta Cat Designs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New stitching project – advice needed

  1. Rosanne says:

    I think Sisu might be the afghan queen among us. Doesn’t she have Rainforest as a WIP?

  2. Tempewytch says:

    I have one in my stash but that is it *snerk*, what DMC are you looking for I may be able to help out there

  3. Mel says:

    Hi Hilary,

    Most of the colours are differing blends of the same base colours so there are many skeins of just a dozen or so DMC colours 🙂 For example, three of the four colours in the horms use DMC 422 so I need upteen skeins of 422. We’ll be heading to the city in a fortnight-ish so we’ll have the threads long before international post could bring any RAKs 🙂

    Thanks for the offer though 🙂

    I’ve finished Square 2 and will have finished Square 3 before bed. Square 4 will depend on whether I have enough colours. 1, 2 and 3 are only the horns so far 🙂

  4. kay jones says:

    I’ve only done one afghan. It was a model stitch for Xs and Ohs the zodiac one (dont know if its still on their website).

    Mine was in only two colours but I did find that by starting at the top and working across the row 1 2 3 4 and then the next row 5678, it seemed to handle better.

    Other than that its just as you would any other piece only its larger. BTW I have an afghan in my drawer; been there about 5 years but still cant see anything that I MUST stitch on it. Anyone got any ideas?

  5. Mel says:

    Well I can recommend this one 🙂 I also one day want to stitch:

    Fanta Cat – Regal Pea Dragon
    http://www.fantacatdesigns.com/fantacatdesigns/ILLU433.html

    Dragon Dreams – Dragon Virtues

    Dragon Dreams – Rune Keeper Saga

    Dragon Dreams – Cristmyth Ornaments series onto an afghan
    http://dragondreams.accra.ca/Sample_Charts.html

    There are others, but those are the one’s I can think off the top of my head ….

Comments are closed.