Stitching Update: Mystery Start #2

Mystery Start #2 started life in January 2011 like this…

… and had only progressed to this by 18 January before being put away.

Mystery Two First Week's Progress

Needless to say no-one guessed what this project was 🙂  I’m not surprised non-one guessed by the blob, but I though the floss toss might have given it away, especially as many people know who my favourite designers are 🙂

So after peering into a few boxes in a cold wet wintry week this week I found this project again and put a few more stitches into it.  The simplicity of the single colour with just enough complexity to keep the colour changes in patches instead of tiger stripes was just about right for my brain to handle this week.

So now the blob looks like a mathematician’s ice cream cone ….

Any guesses as to the project and designer now?

This entry was posted in Cross Eyed Kat, Cross Stitch Designer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stitching Update: Mystery Start #2

  1. Kat says:

    I know, I know!! But I think I have an unfair advantage.

  2. rocalisa says:

    One of Cross-Eyed Kat’s heart designs?

  3. Mel says:

    Gee Kat – you think that might be a big big hint to everyone else 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Quick question for you? Why did you use Mango Tango? It seems quite different to the other three almost solid reds in the pattern … just curious as to the “designer thought pattern” ….

  4. Kat says:

    Ok, I’m officially guessing that it is Angle of Love. Now you want me to remember my thread choice thoughts from seven years ago? LOL! I probably wanted something with a bit of a contrast from the other colors. Looking at a picture of the cover model, I think the skein of thread I used had much more red. I also don’t remember it having that much yellow. The dyeing process may have changed a bit over the years! still looks good, though.

  5. Mel says:

    Yep – this is officially Angle of Love by Cross Eyed Kat Designs, guessed by the designer Kat Rocha herself 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Yep, Kat, that is one of the fun issues with handyded threads, that they do ocassionally change over the years. Also it could just be that the *batch* I bought had a lot more yellow in it. I could have cut out the yellow and just used the red and pinks of the thread … we’ll see how it ends up looking with the other threads as it all comes together.

    This is part of the fun of a design 🙂 Thanks for lettering me know Kat! I have very little “colour sense” myself, so I am always curious when people select one shade over another 🙂 Thank you!

Comments are closed.