Health Update: When’s it supposed to start working?

Depressed woman today – feel free to ignore.

 

Mel: So when’s this Botox supposed to start working

Neurologist: In about a week

Mel: And how will I know it’s working

Neurologist: You wont have any migraines

 

Well it’s been about a week and I still have a migraine. I woke last night due to the pain in my head being so bad and was awake most of the night.  This is actually worse than normal 😦

Had a bad week for triggers.  I went out a lot this week, I think I left the house three days and was in the yard at least once every other day and heard sounds (all people-induced – screaming, whistling, yelling, rave parties) that set off the migraines each day). Some days I had fresh migraines while still feeling the hangover after effects of the previous migraine.

Every time I get excited about taking a step forward I seem to follow it up with two steps backwards …

My short-term memory is getting worse and worse. I’m literally forgetting things from one moment to the next. Like microsleeping but with sections of my memory.  I put the cereal away this morning then poured the milk into my bowl, went to put the milk away and discovered I had put the cereal in the fridge exactly where the milk goes.

When we were out driving yesterday, we were passing some road works and I wasn’t sure mum had the right of way to go onto the other side of the road to go past the workmen. She reminded me we had past the stop/go worker not 3 seconds ago.  I had already forgotten.

These are things you laugh at old people for doing, or are part of a slapstick movie.  This should not be part of my life that proves I am incapable of living on my own or driving a car.

This entry was posted in Health, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Health Update: When’s it supposed to start working?

  1. Rosanne says:

    First off, don’t panic. I know it is very frightening but it is only just a week and sadly you may be one of the people for whom the Botox doesn’t work.

    The memory thing is incredibly frustrating but to me it does sound more like microsleep rather than a loss of memory. It’s because you are not getting a decent quality of sleep which in turn will make the migraines more frequent. Completely depressing vicious circle.

    I’m on one drug which literally kicks my body into deep sleep which is where the body heals itself. Without it, I am wracked with severe pain and back to napping constantly. I hadn’t realised how bad things were. Ask your doctor about using a melotonin based drug to help with sleep quality and see if that helps.

    I’ll never ignore you, just be there to prop you up and keep you going. (((((HUG)))))

  2. Tempewytch says:

    Do you need to get back to the Doc and say this doesn’t seem to be effective and is there anything else they can try? meanwhile more gentle hugs to keep you going

  3. Mel says:

    Hey Hilary, Can’t go back just yet – Rosanne is right – it’s just the first week and I need to stop panicking and give the treatment more time.

    I’m just feeling incredibly frustrated and was heading towards depression so needed to “let it all out” in the blog post if that makes any sense. If these updates are going to be a record of my health each week, I suppose they should include my mental health too.

    A decent night’s sleep and not feeling so damn useless all the time would probably go a long way towards improving my overall outlook on life 🙂

  4. kay jones says:

    Rosanne is right. Stop panicking. Take each day as it comes and try to relax. Dont overdo it and stop worrying about your loss of memory. The more you worry, the worse it will become and the more it will depress you.

    If you are still having sleep problems when you go back then ask him to prescribe something that will give you good nights.

    Hugs to you from me …..

  5. Mel says:

    Yep – guess we can add “the anxiety attacks are back” to the list of symptoms again … (sigh) We’re getting there ….

Comments are closed.